• ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • myTaste.com
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Blueberry Ice Cream with Dark Chocolate and Chocolate Sauce #SundaySupper

    Done

    It’s been far, far too long since I have felt technologically suited for a Sunday Supper posting. Now that my computer is back, I am thrilled to be able to participate again!

    This week’s challenge hosted by Stacy of Food Lust People Love and Tara of Noshing With the Nolands? Share recipes with ingredients that are hunted or foraged.

    Now, I know, many of you won’t think of blueberries as being foraged. But, follow along …

    Beautiful summer day. The Dear One and I are tired of being in the garden every day (and, trust me, the garden nightmare dream hadn’t yet begun).

    Let’s do something fun, says I.

    Hey, great idea, says the Dear One. I have just the thing. Blueberry picking!

    Now, I’m not quite sure what sort of romantic notion I had in my head about blueberry picking, but, trust me, after this that notion was dispelled!

    We get in the car and we drive. And drive. And drive. Long, winding rural (what is more rural than rural?) Maine roads. We’re either headed for something that will be a lot of fun … or he’s taking me out into the woods to kill me!

    We turn off a main(ish) road and onto a dirt road. Now we’re going deeper and deeper into the woods. I realize I am a simple city girl, but even I know blueberries don’t grow in the woods! The theme from Deliverance is dancing through my head.

    We pass a ramshackle house with at least a dozen kids outside and dogs and cats and cars in all array of decay. Thinking to myself, this isn’t going to end well for me! I had lines from Eddie Izzard and his wonderful bit about the Druids and Stonehenge running through my head, “I don’t even know where I live now!” The children asked if we needed blueberry rakes or boxes (ah, we’re in the right place) and to just keep going … and going … and the road is becoming more and more narrow … and going. And SUDDENLY this tiny narrow “road” opened up into acres upon acres of blueberry fields.

    Blueberries

    WOW!

    Shirtless, shoeless, (dirty) bearded man ambles over to the car explaining where to pick and points further down the road.

    Pull over, hop out of the truck (yes, I said truck), grab some buckets, the blueberry rake (of which we have just one) and take off.

    Blueberry rake

    For those of you that don’t know … and, really, unless you live in rural Maine or New Jersey, why would you know? .. this photo is of a blueberry rake. It looks like a dustpan with a comb attached to it. You bend over, scrape it through the low blueberry bushes and pull up. You pick dozens of blueberries at a time. It’s fantastic.

    Drawback. We have one. Apparently, it’s one of those tools that fall under the ‘MAN’ category. Much too much for you to handle, little lady … HARRUMPH! I’ve decided to go with the Dear One being chivalrous. Yes, that must be it. I walked around taking pictures. Picking blueberries by hand. And just looking around.

    I think it’s better to pick them by hand. A lot of them get smushed with the rake and a many more leaves and twigs end up in your buckets.

    Now, a little blueberry trivia (bet you didn’t know there was such a thing) … those big fat blueberries you find in the supermarkets, mostly from New Jersey, are high bush blueberries. The tiny ones, often the ones you find frozen, referred to as wild blueberries, and mostly from Maine, are low bush blueberries. These were low bush blueberries.

    Blueberry fieldThat’s the Dear One out in the middle of the field raking away. I believe I was sent back to the car to fetch water.

    Completely exhausting, back breaking. Messy. You’re turning violet, Violet, colored fingers. Even with the down side, we now have 10 1-gallon freezer bags filled with wild blueberries in our freezer downstairs. There were more, but Smoothy Girl breaks into it, I’ve made this ice cream, muffins, drinks, etc.

    Would I do this again? Oh, hells yeah!

    This ice cream is great to make … NO EGGS. It’s very easy to put together. A little cooking of the blueberries, a bit of blitzing in the blender, mix, cool, voila! The color is fantastic. The taste amazing. Next time, at the suggestion of my pal Lisa, I may add some sort of crumble to the top before serving. I suppose making it a deconstructed blueberry pie! Even the picky people have been digging into it!

    I do think the chocolate sauce is unnecessary, but it don’t hurt!

    Try this with a scoop of blueberry ice cream, a scoop of chocolate ice cream, some of the chocolate sauce and frozen blueberries!

    Ice Cream

    • 1 1/2 C heavy cream
    • 2 1/2 C Maine wild blueberries (like Driscoll’s)
    • 1 C sugar
    • 1/8 t salt
    • 1 C whole milk
    • 1 T fresh lemon juice
    • 3 ounces bar dark chocolate, chopped into small chunks (or 1/2 cup of mini semi-sweet morsels)

    Dark Chocolate Sauce

    • 2 C heavy cream
    • 2/3 pounds (11 ounces) dark chocolate chips or bar chopped into small pieces
    • 2 1/2 T light corn syrup

    Ice Cream

    Mix blueberries, sugar, and salt in a heavy saucepan over medium-high heat. Stir occasionally until sugar dissolves. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 10 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool 20 minutes. Puree in a blender. Stir puree together with heavy cream, milk and lemon juice. Chill in refrigerator overnight. Pour into an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s directions. Swirl in dark chocolate by pouring small chunks into machine during last 5 minutes of freezing.

    Dark Chocolate Sauce

    Bring cream to a boil. Remove from heat and add chocolate and corn syrup. Let sit until chocolate melts, about 2 to 3 minutes. Stir until smooth. For warm ice cream topping, allow sauce to cool 10 minutes before serving. Otherwise, allow sauce to cool to room temperature.

     

    Check out these recipes from this week’s Sunday Supper Movement … On the Hunt!

    Spread it on Thick

    Nibbles and Sides

    The Main Event

    Sweet Treats

    Sunday Supper MovementJoin the #SundaySupper conversation on Twitter on Sunday! We tweet throughout the day and share recipes from all over the world. Our weekly chat starts at 7 p.m. ET.  Follow the #SundaySupper hashtag and remember to include it in your tweets to join in the chat. To get more great Sunday Supper Recipes, visit our website or check out our Pinterest board.

    Would you like to join the Sunday Supper Movement? It’s easy. You can sign up by clicking here: Sunday Supper Movement.

    25 Responses

    1. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    2. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    3. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    4. I have learned something new today. In fact, a few somethings new! Thank you so much, Andrea. The color of your ice cream is fabulous and I am sure it has flavor to match!

    5. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    6. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    7. I love your story of blueberry picking! And your recipe too. Such pretty ice cream.

    8. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    9. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    10. I’ve missed you! SO glad you had this foraging adventure and could join us with a delicious recipe. The color of this ice cream is spectacular…and I’m sure the taste gives the color a run for its money 🙂

    11. I used to go wild blueberry picking in Alaska. We had tools like that too, but because you have wild cranberries, crowberries and other wild plants growing right in with the blueberries, we still had to pick by hand. I miss it!

    12. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    13. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    14. I have picked blueberries before, all berry picking is hard work. You made a gorgeous dessert with them that is for sure!!

    15. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    16. Gotta save this one for next summer for sure, this will be a hit

    17. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    18. What a gorgeous color on your ice cream! And I love the story, made me laugh!

    19. wild blueberries are tiny but mighty in flavor. I know this ice cream must be delicious!

    20. […] Blueberry Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce from From the Bookshelf […]

    21. This is just pure deliciousness and I am so glad you shared it during #SundaySupper

    22. Sounds like a fun trip!

    23. I grew up in a big city and I have never picked blueberries. Your recipes looks so dang delicious.

    24. We went blueberry picking in the summer in NJ, and yes, they were high bushes and no rakes… had no idea they existed. The ice cream looks amAzing!

    Leave a comment