• ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • myTaste.com
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Bruschetta

    Done

    Hello, computer, my old friend

    It’s nice to type on you again

    Brian fixed you, oh, so sweetly

    Back on my desk, oh, so neatly …

    It’s been a really long slog trying to get my iMac fixed! It just froze and died one day while I was still living in Brooklyn – it’s been dead for over one and a half years!

    I tried to have it fixed while I was still living in Brooklyn. Really, I did. Brought it to the Apple store. Sadly, I have only 2 kidneys to give up and the cost would have required 4 kidneys. I found an Apple authorized dealer. HUZZAH! He could fix it for $600. Well worth it, I thought. A new computer would have cost me at least twice much. And then the phone call. Well, you see, says he, there’s far more wrong with the computer than we thought. Aside from the Logic Board, you need to replace the flaggity gimboboo and the lala hosinfeffer. We’ll have to tack another $600 onto the original estimate.

    WHAT? Are you kidding me or what, says I. No way. As the time approached for me to move, I considered throwing the darn thing away. Really, it’s a planter at this point. The Dear One, so much more level headed than I, interjected and said, bring it with you in the move. I’, sure we can find someone in Maine to fix it for far less.

    Okay.

    And it sat.

    And it sat.

    And it sat some more.

    Sigh …

    The girls get together for breakfast quite frequently. Occasionally, the boys join us. One morning my friend Jenn’s husband joined us. I was lamenting about having to use only the Dear One’s laptop and how difficult it’s been to blog on the laptop. One, it’s so TINY. Two, it’s not mine and I wasn’t comfortable. I wanted my lovely, big, pretty iMac back! WAAAAAAHHHHH!

    Jenn’s husband, the wizard Brian looked at me and said, Bring it to me. I can fix it.

    It took a number of months with the summer and traveling and renting of houses and stents, but one day he calls  … he says to me … it’s done. Come and get it!

    Well, I wanted to just fall off my chair!

    And here I am. Back at my beloved computer, happily typing away, knowing I have a ton of blog posts to catch up on.

    Please, dear followers, if you’re still out there, don’t judge the random out of order, spring, summer and fall posts you’ll read pouring out of here!

    Brian, you are a genius and a dear friend. Thank you so much for fixing my computer and getting me back on track!

    So, back to the Bruschetta … this may be the most requested recipe in our house. Long day, company  coming, misunderstanding, Bruschetta solves it all. Sadly, the Dear One is a little camera/social media shy. If he weren’t I would add a photo of the ginormous smile that spreads across his face every time he eats this.

    It’s so easy to whip up. Even with the sins of off season tomatoes, this is wonderful. The rest of the ingredients sort of hide that flaw.

    This Bruschetta was made with tomatoes straight from our garden … oh, so was the onion, garlic, and basil!

    • 1 baguette
    • 4 plum tomatoes, diced
    • 4 garlic cloves, minced
    • 1/2 C diced sweet onion
    • 1/2 t salt
    • 1/4 t pepper
    • 1 T extra virgin olive oil, plus extra for brushing baguette
    • 1/2 T balsamic vinegar

    Preheat oven to 450. Slice the baguette. brush both sides of each slice with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt. In oven until golden.

    Mix all other ingredients in a bowl.

    To serve, either put a spoonful of the tomato mixture on each toast or the toasts on a platter and the bowl of the tomato mixture beside it and let everyone help themselves.

    Enjoy!

    Yes, it’s that easy!

     

    Leave a comment