• ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • myTaste.com
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Blythe Danner’s Blueberry Muffins

     

    I love blueberries. I like them in everything and on anything. It makes me sad that blueberry season is so relatively short.

    BLueberries freeze beautifully, so there are always bags of frozen blueberries in the freezer so I can have a little bit of blueberry sunshine all year ’round.

    While thumbing through My Father’s Daughter – a surprisingly terrific cookbook by Gwyneth Paltrow – I came across this recipe for Blyth Danner’s Blueberry Muffins. This had to be the first recipe I tried from this book!

    I changed a few things in the recipe to make it my own.

    • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled
    • 2 large organic eggs
    • 1/2 C whole milk
    • 2 C unbleached all-purpose flour
    • 3/4 C plus 1 teaspoon granulated sugar
    • 2 t baking powder
    • 1/2 t kosher salt
    • zest from 1 lemon
    • 2 1/2 C fresh blueberries, rinsed and dried

     

    NOTE: I added lemon zest in. I love the brightness it brings to everything and blueberries and lemons are natural partners in goodness!

    Preheat the oven to 375ºF. Line a 12 cup muffin tin with paper liners or spray well with cooking spray.

    NOTE: I opted for the cooking spray. I hate the added hassle of trying to get the liners off!

    In a large bowl whisk the cooled butter, eggs and milk until everything is incorporated. In a separate bowl whisk the flour, 3/4 cup of sugar, baking powder and salt.

    Pour the butter mixture into the dry ingredients and stir everything together until the batter is smooth and creamy.

    Fold in the blueberries.

    Fill each muffin cup about 1/2 full, dividing the batter evenly amongst all 12 cups. Sprinkle the muffin tops with the remaining teaspoon of sugar. Bake them for about 25 to 30 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean.

    NOTE: I used demerara sugar to sprinkle the top. I love the extra little crunch and sparkle it gives!

    These were SO good and so quick to come together. They were light and fluffy and chock full of blueberries. The batter was thick enough that the blueberries did not sink to the bottom. This may need to become my go to blueberry muffin recipe!

    19 Responses

    1. Lovely looking muffins!

    2. Mmmmm…these look phenomenal! I’ll take my with some lemon curd, please!

    3. I may actually try this recipe because I find Blythe Danner hilarious!

    4. These look amazing!

    5. yum, yum, yum!! DO U RECOMMEND THAT BOOK? SAW HER ON TV THE OTHER DAY-OFF TO AMAZON I GO. U AND LIZ R COSTING ME A FORTUNE THIS WEEK!!!!!!!!! ENJOY YOUR MUFFIES! MMMMMMM

    6. Lovely, must try those. I love blueberries with lemon. I have a soft blueberry and lemon cookie recipe that always goes down a treat. Glad to hear the book is good, I had been wondering about it.

    7. You have a muffin pan that you can actually get the muffin out of without ruining it? Omg that is SO COOL!!
      These muffins look fab 🙂

    8. Oh wow these look so good.. *drools* can you do this with strawberries too?

    9. THANKS FOR SHARING!!! I REALLLLY WANT TO TRY THESE!!! XO

    10. This looks like THE recipe for perfect blueberry muffins! They look so good, and what I like best is that there are a lot of blueberries in them!

    11. Just wanted to thank you for this amazing recipe. These muffins were just what I was looking for. So delicious. Can’t wait to make these again for my family and friends. It’s been fun “stalking” your blog for the Secret Recipe Club. http://imapretendchef.blogspot.com/2011/08/secret-recipe-club-blueberry-muffins.html

    12. I keep hearing such good things about this cookbook. Who would have thought!?!?!

    Leave a comment