• ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • myTaste.com
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Toasted Cecchi, Almonds, and Pistachios

    Love nuts! And in our house we are total suckers for spiced nuts. So what better way to kick off the I Heart Cooking Club’s 6 Giada celebration than these delicious nuts.

    I like that there are cecchi (garbanzo beans) in here. I like them toasted on there own with a little cooking spray and whatever herbs I have on hand. Great for a snack when you’re dieting and still want a crunch.

    • 1 (15-ounce) can garbanzo (cecchi) beans, drained and rinsed
    • 1 tablespoon olive oil, plus 3 tablespoons
    • 1 cup shelled pistachios
    • 1 cup raw almonds
    • 1 tablespoon sugar
    • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary leaves
    • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme leaves
    • 1 teaspoon coarse sea salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne

    NOTE: Let the cecchi drain really well. They should be nearly dry when you begin.

    Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

    Place the garbanzo beans on a foil-lined baking sheet. Toss with 1 tablespoon of olive oil and spread the beans in a single layer. Place in the oven and bake until golden, about 30 minutes.

    Remove the garbanzo beans from the oven. Add the remaining ingredients to the garbanzo beans and carefully stir to coat all the beans and nuts. Spread the mixture out to a single layer.

    Bake for 10 more minutes. Let cool slightly and place in serving bowls.

    NOTE: These are addictively good. Nice kick from the cayenne. Great crunch. And I cannot help but gild the lily, I added dried cranberries to this once cooled. It adds a little sweetness that cuts the heat a little.

    10 Responses

    1. Yummmy…I would love these!

    2. Annie, those look delish. I’ve got everything on hand to make them, so I may try to give them a go tomorrow. Then I can share some with Mom on Tuesday. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us!

    3. What a great Holiday gift!

    4. Wow – these nuts look totally delicious – I would not be able to stop eating them – I can see what you mean by addictive. Love the idea of roasted chickpeas in here (I often put them in salads) as well as the dried cranberries.
      Sue

    5. These look amazing – the perfect weekend snack! I’ll be making these up this weekend. You’ve sold me! 🙂

    6. What an awesome combination! I think I have to make this one soon. Very, very soon! YUM 🙂

    Leave a comment