• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Chicken with Cauliflower and Parsley

I am trying to be diligent with my Every(Thurs)day Food Magazine scouring through and finding recipes I have flagged but never made. It won’t be easy, and I don’t blog with pressure or by schedule, but we’ll try to do it once a week.

I was going to have last minute company and needed a recipe with few ingredients, was quick to put together and still was ‘fancy’ enough for company. Not that any of our dear friends are company!

I closed my eyes, reached into the pile of Everyday Food magazines and came out with one of my most favorite issues – December 2009. As an aside, I made the most incredible Christmas Eve dinner from this issue – to be talked about and redone forever!

This dish is simple. A one skillet dish, very little prep, very few ingredients, cooks itself. This is great with couscous and a great, crusty loaf of bread. The pan juices are so good, you have to serve it with something to soak them up.

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
  • 1 head cauliflower (about 1 pound), cut into large florets
  • 1/4 cup parsley leaves, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon capers
  • 2 tablespoons sherry vinegar

NOTE: I had more people to feed, so I doubled the amount of chicken, but did not double the other ingredients. When I bought the head of cabbage, they all had a small package already cut up, so I bought that as well – I LOVE CAULIFLOWER!

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high. Season chicken with coarse salt and ground pepper. Add chicken skin side down, cook until browned, 5 to 7 minutes. Turn over and cook until just browning, about 3 minutes.

Add cauliflower, season with salt and pepper and turn to coat. Make sure all the cauliflower is coated in all the wonderful pan drippings before you put the skillet in the oven.

NOTE: I didn’t salt again. I seasoned the chicken really well, and didn’t want to add so much salt to this recipe.

Transfer to skillet to oven and cook until chicken is cooked and cauliflower tender, about 20 minutes.

Remove skillet from oven, add vinegar, parsley and capers. Serve. Eat. Enjoy!

NOTE: I am not a big caper fan, and didn’t think it was necessary in this dish. Also, I am a big fan of serving everything, and anything family style (especially when it’s just family). Skillet on the table, bowl full of couscous, bread, wine, and dig in! Even the non-cauliflower lovers loved this!

2 Responses

  1. Impressive photos.Now I am really hungry.

    I will try this recipe, although my husband hates cauliflower. I wonder if I could substitute cauliflower with broccoli, which is
    the only vegetable he seems to eat unless you count potatoes. He is strictly meat and potatoes

    In many of my dishes I try to sneak in carrots but he always pushes them to the side of the plate. In contrast most of my kids are vegetarians. The only exception is my son who prefers eating dishes with vegetables and eats more vegetables in any dish than the meat or poultry.

  2. Wow, that looks great. I love any kind of one-pan chicken dish and I love cauliflower, so I’m definitely going to try this.

    I’m on a mission to try and get through my magazine stacks too 🙂

    Sue

Leave a Reply

