• ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • myTaste.com
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • PLT #FantasticalFoodFight

    While tip-toeing through the internet, I came across Fantastical Food Fight. And, while I’m REALLY bad at timed anything, this really intrigued me. A dish is picked, make your own version, compare. I liked that.

    And April’s theme … the BLT! Not that I think there’s anything you can do to a BLT to improve it. Bacon, mayonnaise, bacon, lettuce, bacon, tomatoes, bacon, bread. But perhaps, just perhaps, there is another way to have a BLT.

    Crispy pancetta, arugula and sun-dried tomatoes, some olive oil and balsamic vinegar, all tucked inside a ciabatta roll. Well, that works for me.

    The arugula is from our garden. The sun-dried tomatoes too – the last jar from last summer.

    You may find this shocking, but there really isn’t a recipe for this.

    • Ciabatta roll or loaf
    • Thinly sliced pancetta or prosciutto
    • Arugula
    • Sun-dried tomatoes

    Heat oven to 425.

    On a baking sheet, make a single layer of the pancetta or prosciutto. Should take about 10 – 15 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool.

    Pile everything onto the ciabatta.

    Drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. (I suggest a balsamic glaze or reduction)

    DIG IN!



    7 Responses

    1. This looks absolutely amazing. YUMMO

    2. Sort of an Italian BLT! Love your take on the sandwich! Pancetta is soooo good!

    3. This looks heavenly…especially with the balsamic! I could totally see how that would taste amazing!

    4. I would definitely order that sandwich at a restaurant. Yum!

    5. Thank you so much for joining in!! I agree with your sentiment…for me a BLT just needs bacon, lettuce, tomato, and mayo and I’m a happy camper, but I have to say…your version has my jaw hitting the flour! I love pancetta and arugula…and sundried tomatoes. YES! And on ciabatta – heaven!!

    Leave a comment