• ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • myTaste.com
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Peach Liqueur

    peach-liqueur

    As you learned from the Pear Liqueur post just a few days ago, the Dear one and I were married in October. It only took us 45 years to get there, but the important thing is we got there.

    Yes, 45 years. We met in grammar school in the mid-1970s. Not a lot of spark, but we weren’t even teenagers then. Went to separate high schools, but ended up in the same high school. I remember the first day being in a new school and seeing him standing at the top of the stairs. My heart exploded and I was in love. We dated, didn’t, dated, didn’t, dated,he went to Antarctica for the first time and we lost touch. There was always a space there for the ONE who got away. Sigh …

    We went to a teeny, tiny Catholic grammar school in Greenwich Village. The Sisters of (un)Charity, the order of nuns that ran our grammar school, which had closed right after graduation, allowed us to use the building for a reunion. This was to be – and was – a reunion of epic proportions. Alumni were invited from the very first class of students through to the last graduating class.

    I was somehow (thank you, Sandra!) was dragged into planning and coordinating this event, though someone, whose name I will not mention, hogged all the credit – well, he shared it with someone who didn’t do a single thing. Part of what the Sisters sent us to use for the reunion were CDs filled with photos; some candids, some class photos.

    As one does, I sat in front of the computer looking for photos of me, my sister, my friends. While scanning through the class photos, laughing the whole time at the outfits and hair – WAIT! There HE is wearing groovy Davy Jones-esque stripped pants, a hair cut from I don’t know where and a goofy smile only a tween-aged boy can have. My heart did a pitter-patter.

    To make a very long story short, I emailed him. Three sentences and the photo. I wasn’t looking for anything, just to share a photo, check in.

    He didn’t answer.

    And he didn’t answer.

    But then HE DID.

    And here we are … finally. I feel as though all the pieces finally fit together, not a feeling ever experienced before in my life.

    Perhaps it’s a bit like that old sermon about the fellow who gets to heaven questioning why God didn’t save him. God’s reply, I sent you a log, a boat and a helicopter …

    This was more like I put you two in each other’s paths in grammar school, high school and now. Well, this time I got the message LOUD AND CLEAR and I grabbed on and won’t ever let go.

    peaches

    But we’re here for peaches!

    Lovely, sweet peaches. Look, there are a few in the trees! Wait, here’s more. O.M.G. look at all of these peaches! Now what will I do!?

    I’ll tell you what I will do – I will make peach liqueur (look at how well the pear experiment worked!), and peach salsa, and peach jam, and freeze some just sliced, and eat many, oh, wait Sangria. Peaches were easier. The very nice thing about this recipe is the no fuss, no muss, no cooking side to it.

    • 3 peaches (about 10 ounces)
    • 5 ounces sugar
    • 1 lemon
    • 2 or 3 sprigs of thyme
    • 500 ml vodka

    NOTE: Again, do to the number of peaches I had I quadrupled this recipe.

    Rinse the peaches well and pat them dry.

    lemons

    Remove the peel from the lemon and cut into thick slices.

    ready-to-sit

    Place all the ingredients in an air tight jar and leave to infuse for 6 – 8 weeks, shaking every few days to dissolve the sugar.

    2-weeks

    NOTE: After about two weeks the liquid turns a lovely pink color.

    After 6 – 8 weeks, strain the liquid through cheesecloth or coffee filter lined sieve. Refrigerate. Enjoy!

     

    3 Responses

    1. Some friend you are……. Here’s me stuck in Winnipeg (where we have as much snow as you do LOL) thinking fine, I will just write off love and all that and “I don’t care”. Love? Pfafoeey – I don’t it and it doesn’t need ME.

      Then you post THIS, and make me think there might be hope after all, even for a cynic like me.

      Seriously – wishing you a lifetime of happiness. You deserve it!!

      And we need to Facetime soon. No Skype. My iPad had an argument with the Skype app and Skype won.

      Hugs from Wintery Canada

      Marg

    2. […] past summer we had TONS of peaches! You remember the Peach Liqueur – I think I do! There will be Peach Jam coming […]

    Leave a comment