• ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • myTaste.com
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Artichoke Lemon Spread

    Done

    Silence is deafening, they say.

    And, by the same token, words can be weapons.

    I’ve been having a terrible time getting started blogging again. And I really do miss it. I have at least 20 recipes from 2014 that I never blogged. It isn’t that I don’t want to .. or that I don’t think about what I’d like to write about. I have still been cooking up a storm (get it, get it, haha), photographing dishes, getting them ready. I hadn’t been quite able to put a finger on the reason. AND THEN …

    … while listening to This American Life one fine (SNOWY) Saturday, there was an entire segment with Lindy West on just the topic of internet trolls. I suddenly realized that a situation that had happened to me beginning in November of 2013 and finally ending at the end of February 2014 had emotionally and artistically crippled me. What had happened to Lindy was slightly different, but the sentiment was the same. At the beginning we agreed on one basic tenet … DON’T FEED THE TROLLS … which is why I never made the hurtful comments public, nor ever responded to them. Linda realized that silence is what best feeds a troll, giving them more power, giving them exactly what they want. Silencing the person at whom they aim their vitriol.

    I don’t think … or at least I truly hope … the people leaving snide comments or sending snarky tweets realize the damage they do to the people they campaign against. While cloaked in the perceived comfort of anonymity, perhaps even giggling, the person reading these messages is hurt, cut to the quick, and left wondering WHY. Why me?

    Just as an aside, let’s just touch on the illusion of anonymity on the internet. For this is truly an illusion, there’s no such thing as anonymity on the internet. Everything and anything you put out into the universe over the internet really does go out into the universe … FOREVER.

    For me, dear readers, this is just food. Nice photos, good recipes (I hope), sharing with a community of like-minded foodies. There’s no political agenda, I’m not skinning cats, and I’m not polluting the world by burning vast amounts of fossil fuels to get my own point across. I write this for me. It’s nice to have readers, but even without a single reader, this would still be something I do for me. A form of expression. Coupling three of my joys in life … cooking, photography and writing.

    Sadly, there had certainly been fear and a bad taste left in my mouth regarding blogging, something I really love to do. The thought that my personal words and thoughts could be used against me again, by someone who knew nothing about me had proven to be daunting.

    I keep coming back to WHY. Why me? What did I do to cause this and what could I have done to avoid it?

    I thought about giving up my blog entirely. I thought about starting a brand new blog. After listening to Lindy, realizing I wasn’t alone in this dilemma, I decided to sit down,w rite this post, get it all off my chest and continue soldiering on. I’m not giving up what I like to do. I’m not changing myself or what I write for acceptance. This is who I am. I have been basically the same person since I popped out of the womb (thanks Mom & Dad). I live my life trying to leave no carnage in my wake, treating people the way I would like to be treated.

    While it still smarts, I challenge all internet trolls and stalkers out there … get to know the subject of your attack. You may just find you like them. Think before you push that button … if someone did this to me, how would I feel.

    Linda has given me renewed strength where my public, blogging life is concerned. I will not allow someone else to rule my life, I will not live in fear.

    I have come too far in my life, given up too much to be where I am right now to be stopped by anyone or anything.

    Hello, World, I’m back and hopefully better than ever.

    You’ll have to pardon a number of ‘off-season’ posts while I catch up. Thank you.

    So with that in mind …

    While poking around online for some yummy before dinner nibbles, and being tired of the ones I was using over and over and over again, I came across this recipe for Artichoke Lemon Pesto from Ciao Chow Linda.

    It’s fabulous! It’s easy!

    Vegetarian, filling, slightly tangy.

    Everything goes into the food processor and with a whirl is finished!

    Try it, you’ll be hooked.

    • 1  14-ounce can of artichoke hearts  in water (unseasoned)
    • 1/4 C parmesan cheese
    • 1/8 C finely chopped parsley
    • a few small sprigs of thyme, minced
    • 2 cloves of garlic
    • 1 t lemon peel, finely minced
    • 2 t lemon juice
    • 3 T olive oil
    • salt, pepper

    Mince the parsley and thyme roughly with the garlic and lemon peel. Place the artichoke hearts, the parsley and thyme and all the remaining ingredients into a food processor. Pulse or whir until everything is chopped finely and blended. Taste and adjust seasonings accordingly.

    NOTE: I roughly chopped the parsley, thyme and garlic. I mean, it’s going in the food processor, after all. As for the lemon peel, I used a zester instead of peeling and didn’t need to mince it further.

     

    8 Responses

    1. You Rock! Blog on my dear friend!

    2. Don’t let anyone rain on your parade … glad you’re back on the blog scene. And this recipe looks amazing and so easy.

    3. As an almost always polite Canadian I have a direct message to the troll who was harassing you. “Listen jerkhead you mess with MY friend you mess with ME and trust me you don’t want to do that”. Sending a big hug and a double rum & diet coke. We need to Skype soon.

      Now that that’s out of the way – hope you survived the monster blizzard and this looks yummy. (I really need to buy a food processor).

    4. God bless you for next years dear. Your spread recipe is great : ) I will have it with toasted baguette!

    Leave a comment