• ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • myTaste.com
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • One-Pan Fudge Cake

    Baked

    You’ll have to use your imaginations here …

    RING … RINNNGGGGGG …

    Me: Hello?

    SS: Hi! Whatcha doing for dinner tonight. I know the Dear One is away and you’re home alone. Come over for dinner and a movie. Just me and he kids. This way I won’t have to rescue you after you’ve done something I Love Lucy-esque.

    Me: Okay. That’s great.

    SS: Well, not just  me and the kids … 4 or 5 other people as well.

    Me: Oh? (Wishing I hadn’t answered the phone now) Sure. What can I bring? (when will I learn NOT to ask that question!?)

    SS: How about dessert?

    Me: Okay. What time?

    SS: How about an hour?

    Me: See you then.

    SS: Andrea? Don’t lock the door when you leave!

    AN HOUR? Come up with and make dessert and drive into town IN AN HOUR!? Now what am I going to do?

    Suddenly inspiration! I remembered seeing a recipe on Relish.com for a One-Pan Fudge Cake taken from the Junior League of Nashville cookbook.

    Simple ingredients. One pan. Quick to throw together. Cools in the pan. Baked in 30 minutes. I.AM.SAVED!

    Fudgey and dense, chocolatey without being too sweet, this cake is the answer to any last minute guests or dinner invitations!

    Oh, and ice cream. Ice cream is great on top of this cake.

    • 1/2 C (1 stick) butter
    • 1 C sugar
    • 1 1/2 ounces unsweetened chocolate
    • 3/4 C all-purpose flour
    • 1 pinch salt
    • 1/4 t baking powder
    • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
    • 1 t vanilla
    • 1 C chopped pecans or walnuts
    • Powdered sugar

    Ingredients

    Preheat oven to 325F. Grease a 8-inch square cake pan.

    Melt butter, sugar and chocolate in a medium saucepan over low heat. When melted, add flour, salt and baking powder. Stir well. Add eggs, vanilla and pecans, if using.

    Pouring into pan

     

    Stir well and pour into prepared pan.

    Bake 30 to 35 minutes. Cut into squares while hot. Let cool in pan.

    Sprinkling sugar

    When cool, dust top with powdered sugar.

     

    4 Responses

    1. How yummy!

    2. mmmm looks so good & yummy 😉

    3. I wouldn’t have ever thought of brownies as a last-minute projects. Clearly I need less fussy brownie recipes!

    4. I hate that kind of tricky invitation (although in this case it sounds like it was meant well of course), where you get the full disclosure one you have accepted… you found the perfect solution!

    Leave a comment