• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Sausage with Fagioli all’Uccelletta

If I had to pick one cuisine to live on for the rest of my life – after I finished mourning the loss of all the wonderful cuisines there are – I would have to pick Tuscan. There is something about the complex simplicity. The range of ingredients. The types of ingredients. How they all dance together. And besides, that style of cooking reminds me of my Grandmother – Glamour Girl.

I was thrilled to pieces when the Cooking Channel added Extra Virgin to their line up. I have always loved Debi Mazar. But now I love Debi Mazar and her wonderful husband Gabriele Corcos. Their banter is hilarious. Their food is sublime. You can watch Extra Virgin on the Cooking Channel and follow along their cooking adventures on the blog Under the Tuscan Gun.

On one of the recent episodes, Debi and Gabriele made Sausage with Fagioli all’Uccelletta. I wanted to grab my plate and fork and sit next to them to eat. I went out the next morning to buy the ingredients I needed.

By the way, if you haven’t watched their show, watch. They are so wonderful together – funny, charming, great banter.

This dish is easy enough for the summer heat and hearty and comforting enough for the winter. I have a feeling it will be on our table all the time.

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 8 Italian turkey sausages
  • 5 cloves of garlic, peeled and sliced
  • 1 Lb of cherry tomatoes, halved or quartered depending on the size
  • 3 dried hot red pepper
  • 2 cans (15oz) of cannellini beans
  • 5 bay leaves
  • 2 handfuls of parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste

NOTE: I used 1 hot red pepper. I wanted to see how extreme it would be with one. It had a nice warmth to it, but I think it could use a little more. Oh, and did I mention how much I hated cutting all those tomatoes in half and quarters?

Heat a large high-sided saute pan over medium-high heat. Add the olive oil to heat. Once hot, add the sausages and brown on all sides, for about 8 minutes total. Remove the sausages from the pan to plate and reserve.

Add the garlic, and saute until golden and brown. With a wooden spoon, stir in the chopped tomatoes and red peppers and season with salt and pepper. Lower the flame, and cover the pan with a lid, simmer for 10 minutes, until the tomatoes have broken down and thickened to a sauce-like consistency.

NOTE: I am sure it was the tomatoes, but I would have liked more liquid from them. It may just be my addiction to a wonderful loaf of Italian bread being dipped into any kind of liquid!

Add the browned sausages (and any juice left on the plate), beans, and bay leaves to the thickened tomatoes. Stir well and simmer for another 10 minutes.

Add the chopped parsley before serving.

NOTE: I skipped the parsley and I don’t think I missed it. Debi was right about one thing ~ the smells coming from the pan after you add the tomatoes to the garlic and the juices that came from the sausages was amazing.

I can’t wait to make this again and again. More than that, I can’t wait to try more of their recipes!

Gabriele & Debi – grazie mille!

19 Responses

  1. Real Italian home cooking here. I want to cook this now. I will have to go and buy the ingredients so maybe over the weekend I will share my version.
    Thank you for adding your link to my “Lady in The Window” post.

  2. Looks wonderful and it’s so funny you said that. My wife says she could skip BBQ, if she had to, but take away Italian or Mexican, NEVER.

  3. Looks fabulous! I agree with Greg’s wife, Italian and Mexican food can’t give them up.

  4. My husband and I love Extra Virgin! It’s such a well written/conceptualized show. The food is always so simple yet fabulous – like your interpretation of the Tuscan sausage and beans. I’m not the biggest bean person, and this appeals me.

  5. This dish looks fabulous! And, I love that blog’s name, almost as much as I love the book!

  6. Love the show…I thought this looked great when they made it.
    Glad to see your glowing review!

  7. Oh, I wish I’d seen your delicious dish before I winged my way through dinner tonight! Thanks for the show rec, too…I haven’t been watching any food shows except Mad Hungry reruns 🙂

    Have a wonderful holiday weekend, Annie! xo

    • It’s a great show. THey have great chemistry, add that to Tuscan cooking and it can’t be beat!

      Have a safe and happy 4th, Lizzie!

  8. I live in this country and I have never cooked fagioli all’uccelletto. Can you believe it? I must make up for this.

  9. So glad you shared this with us! It looks delectable…so filling and perfect for a summer dinner.

  10. I am very upset. Even after working all the in a kitchen I was in the mood to make dinner. I thought about this while in the supermarket but got home and realized I had not bought tomatoes. I have to tell you even with just the sausage, olive oil, garlic, and beans and I put some fresh thyme in it was delicious with some pasta. I will post later.

    I particularly like that it is pretty quick and does not overly heat the kitchen

  11. Hi! I came over after seeing this lovely dish from Culinary Lens … and I’m glad I did! I’m going to have this for dinner today, with some fresh baked buns I made yesterday ..yum! Unfortunately I do not have the same ingredients so I’ll just have to do what I do best …. tweak! English bangers, italian canned tomatoes and local birds eye chillies. 😀

Leave a Reply

