• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

“BLE” Breakfast Sandwich

I am not a breakfast person.

Don’t get me wrong …

I love bacon and eggs, and waffles, and pancakes. Oh, and hash and eggs! Wait, Eggs Benedict!

I just can’t eat them first thing in the morning. I love breakfast for dinner or breakfast for lunch.

And when it’s really hot out, I am happy to not have to cook much at all. Breakfast is the perfect solution.

The BLE Sandwich satisfies that. A poached egg, crispy pancetta, arugula, aioli, on a ciabatta. Yummy. Filling. All your food groups covered. Quick. Very little slaving over a hot stove.

I must admit before we go much further, this was my very first attempt at poached eggs. Why, yes, I had been living under a rock. Thank you.

So here we go ~

For the Sandwich:

  • 4 small ciabatta rolls or one loaf cut into 4
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 slices of pancetta
  • 2 C arugula
  • aioli (recipe below)

For the Aioli:

  • 2 or 3 garlic cloves
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 egg yolk at room temperature
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • 2/3 C olive oil
  • 1/3 C extra virgin olive oil

NOTE: I used Eggland’s Eggs – especially for the aioli. The ciabatta rolls shouldn’t be much larger than the poached egg. I hate when all you have left is bread and no stuff inside. Though with this, a little bit left to mop up the egg yolk that may have escaped wouldn’t be a bad thing!

Split and lightly toast the ciabatta.

Preheat oven to 400.

Please pancetta slices on foil or a baking sheet and bake until crisp, about 10 minutes, depending on the thickness of the pancetta.

NOTE: You can also crisp the pancetta in a saute pan the same way you cook bacon.

Add 3″ of water to a shallow pot. Bring water to a boil and then reduce the heat so the water is just simmering. Crack an egg into a small, shallow bowl or cup. Gently slide the egg into the water. It will look like this is going to be a disaster, but the egg starts to tighten up.

Now, the timing – 2 minutes for runny yolks, 3 minutes for soft yolks, 4 minutes for firm yolks.

Using a slotted spoon, remove the egg from the water and place on paper towels. Pat the top of the egg to dry the egg off.

For the Aioli:

Add the garlic and salt to the bowl of a food processor or blender. Pulse for 2 seconds. Add the yolk and lemon juice, and pulse on and off until blended. Turn on and begin slowly streaming the olive oil, and the extra virgin olive oil.

NOTE: If the aioli gets too thick, you can thin it out with room-temperature water and then continue adding oil until you’ve used it all. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Now to assemble ~ place the bottom of the ciabatta roll on a plate, add some arugula, a slice of crispy pancetta, a poached egg, a dollop of aioli and the top half of the ciabatta.

Enjoy!

12 Responses

  1. I love breakfast for lunch. What a great sandwich. Basically I think the rolls are ciabatta dinner rolls.
    You know if you wanted to do this for a crowd you could poach the eggs in advance placing them in a bowl of ice water to stop them cooking further. When you want to assemble you can just reheat your eggs in boiling water and pull everything together,

    • Thanks for dropping by!

      What a great idea for poaching in advance. Now that I have done it all of 4 times, I am no longer afraid!

  2. I’m somewhat in the same boat. I can’t eat bready foods for breakfast and proteins are a no-no because they put me to sleep. But, I’ll have those things as a late night meal anytime! I will say that the only food I can eat in the mornings is fruit. Hmm…

  3. I am with you on this one..I love breakfast for lunch or dinner and these sandwiches look amazing..
    if it makes you feel any better I have never poached an egg!

  4. Oh my goodness. Now this is my kinda sandwich right here! Oh boy, I love this! I should not be looking at everyone’s recipes this morning because I now feel the need to start cooking again and I already ate cereal..lol.

  5. I have not been a very good egg poacher, but yours looks wonderful! Delicious looking breakfast sandwich any time of day.

  6. I’m going to have to adapt your breakfast for lunch/dinner idea! Your sandwich looks fabulous, but I’d probably substitute scrambled eggs…so perfect with your crispy pancetta and aioli!

  7. This looks wonderful…poached eggs are favorites here…but I have never had one on a sandwich…gotta try this sometime!

  8. […] into NYC-friendly creations. As I was perusing the site, I came across a recipe for a delightful breakfast sandwich that reworks this corner bodega favorite into something more gourmet by using pancetta in lieu of […]

Leave a Reply

