• ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • myTaste.com
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Torta de Pasta

    One of my favorite dishes from Everyday Italian is Torta de Pasta. It’s quick and easy. It can change with your moods. You can use pasta just cooked or leftovers from last night’s dinner. I am not sure about your house, but we never have leftover pasta here!

    This is adapted from Giada’s original recipe, though I added her original recipe here in case you’d like to try it. Mine, on the other hand, never comes out the same way twice. It always depends on what’s in the fridge!

    • 8 ounces spaghetti
    • 1/2 cup oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, drained and chopped
    • 4 large eggs
    • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
    • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan
    • 3/4 cup grated fontina
    • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
    • 1 tablespoon olive oil

    Cook the spaghetti in a large pot of boiling salted water until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 8 minutes. Drain. Toss with the sun-dried tomatoes. Set aside to cool completely otherwise the hot pasta could curdle the eggs when you add them later on.

    In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, salt, and pepper, Parmesan, and fontina to blend. Add the cooled spaghetti mixture; toss to coat.

    Preheat the broiler. Melt the butter and oil in a 9 1/2-inch-diameter nonstick skillet over medium heat. Transfer the spaghetti mixture to the skillet, pressing to form an even layer. Cook until the bottom is golden brown, about 3 minutes. Transfer the skillet to the broiler. Broil until the top is golden brown, about 5 minutes. Cool in the skillet to room temperature.

    Invert the torta onto a platter. Cut into wedges and serve at room temperature.

    That was Giada’s. This was mine:

    I used a pound of Barilla Whole Grain Spaghetti.  I like a thick torta.

    While the pasta cooks, saute diced pancetta in a cast iron pan. I use this same pan to cook the torta in. I always keep 4 oz packets of Citterio diced pancetta in the freezer. Always good for a quick meal. Remove pancetta from pan and drain on paper towels. 

    The pasta was cooked until al dente. Once cooked I put the pasta into a large bowl.  Add the pancetta. Add frozen peas. You want the torta to be studded with the peas. Add as many or few as you like.

    Lightly beat 4 eggs and stir in about 1 cup of Parmigiano. Add salt and pepper. Add this to the pasta.  Mix well.

    Melt 1 T of butter and 1 tablespoon of olive oil in the cast iron skillet. Add the pasta mixture and press down into one even layer. I put another skillet on top and put a large can of tomatoes on top to weigh it down.  Cook for about 8 minutes.

    Slide a spatula under and lift up the torta a little. If the bottom is golden brown, gently flip the torta over. I put the skillet in a 350 oven for 15 to 20 minutes to makes sure it is cooked through.

    Cut into wedges and serve with a green salad.

    This doesn’t last long in my house. When it does, it’s good at room temperature for lunch the next day.

    I do find myself waking up during the night and cutting a little wedge for myself … very Nigella…

    4 Responses

    1. Wow, this looks fabulous!!! It may be our Friday night dinner 🙂

    2. I have always wanted to try this – looks delish!

    3. I’m with Natashya. I’ve always wanted to try this. I’m with you on the extra pasta. I’d like my torta on the thick side too. Looks delish. I understand why it wouldn’t last long.

    4. Wonderful! I love that you used the whole grain pasta in it. Fun pick! 😉

    Leave a comment