• ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • myTaste.com
  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Tortilla Soup

    We had a slight reprieve from the weather. Slight. Short lived. We’re back to freezing our tuchuses (sp) off. With Spring less than a month away, all we can do is hold on tightly and pray for the best. Mother Nature has a funny way of keeping us on our toes – enough already, we’re sorry for whatever we did!

    I was very hesitant about this soup. It’s what my foodie friends and I would jokingly refer to as ‘Canna Soup’. A canna this, a canna that. Looking at the ingredients (below) there is very little ‘me’ in this recipe and a lot of dependence on ‘them’. I may change it up a bit next time and add some fresh veggies, some extra herbs, etc.

    This soup comes together so quickly, you’re done almost as soon as you start. Everything in one pot, everything at one time. Can’t possibly be easier than that.

    • 1 T olive oil
    • 4 garlic cloves, minced
    • 1 t chili powder
    • 2 cans (14 1/2 ozs each) diced tomatoes
    • 2 cans (15 ozs each) black beans, rinsed and drained
    • 1 can (14 1/2 ozs) reduced sodium chicken broth
    • 1 package (10 ozs) frozen corn kernels
    • s&p
    • 1 T fresh line juice
    • tortilla chips

    NOTE: If you use vegetable stock, this becomes vegetarian.

    Heat oil in a large saucepan.

    Add garlic and chili powder and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.

    NOTE: Cooking dry spices for a moment or 2 before adding the rest of the ingredients really helps them release their flavor and aroma. I tend to do this all the time.

    Add tomatoes (with juice), beans, broth, corn and 1 cup of water. Season with s&p.

    Bring soup to a boil, reduce to a simmer. Remove from heat and stir in lime juice.

    NOTE: The original recipe called for 1 cup of crushed tortilla chips to be added at this point. I though they would turn into a soggy mess and decided to just serve them on the side.

    Serve soup with lime wedges and tortilla chips. A little sour cream or shredded cheddar would be nifty too!

    tortillasoupchallengegirlichef

    9 Responses

    1. Yum! I love tortilla soup! 🙂

    2. I’m not a cook, but this looks doable! And good! Thanks for the easy descriptions! {:-Deb

    3. This would be great on a chilly day.

    4. This is a wonderful soup for a chilly night. I just love it.

    5. love tortilla soup and you do a super job in making the recipe look so easy…good post =)

    6. Yummy. Thank looks amazing. Really good meal for a cold night like tonight.

      http://reesspace.blogspot.com/2011/02/alphabe-thursday-t.html

    7. I used to make something really similar to this when I was doing weight watchers.

      The main differene is we would add a packet of dried ranch dressing to it.

      I always enjoyed this soup but haven’t made it for quite some time.

      I’m going to dig through the pantry and see if I have the ingredients on hand already.

      Thanks for the terrific and tasty link to Alphabe-Thursday’s letter “T”.

      A+

    8. mmmm…my favorite soup, sounds great! Thanks for joining us at Food ‘n Flix this month…I hope you’ll add a link to my Tortilla Soup Quest/Challenge, as well (http://www.girlichef.com/2010/05/tortilla-soup-challenge-please-join-me.html). 🙂

    Leave a comment