Buffalo Chicken Bites

Ready to Serve

I’m always way behind the times on my blog. You know, a day late and a dollar short. For days and days before the Super Bowl there were blog posts of fabulous recipes to make for the Super Bowl.  So, you make them, you blog about them, and then make them AGAIN? As a reader of blogs, it’s great for ideas. As a blogger myself …

I can’t. I just can’t make things for an occasion so far in advance of the day just so I can blog about them (well, with the exception of Valentine’s Day which you will see this Sunday! It needed to be tried in advance to make sure it worked!). I’m much more of a ‘see-how-much-fun-I-had’ and ‘look-at-all-the-yummies-I-made’ kinda gal.

So it goes with this post.

I’m on the sofa. In my pjs. Dying. Yes, DYING. I have a cold. Someone, and I won’t mention who, has been sneezing on me, and sniffling on me, and I’m trying my best not to give in to this malaise because I am just a couple of days away from heading home again.

My brother friend Nick Rick (he’s very protective of his privacy and image, you see) comes to me, laptop in hand, and asks ‘do you think these would be difficult to make’? I says, “Aside from the dough part, no.’ And, no, we don’t have the equipment to make the dough in a machine. And, yes, I can figure out how to do it by hand. And how about these? Yes, we can do those as well. So off we went to the store to pick up a few ingredients needed. This recipe was adapted from my favorite foodie magazine (oh, we miss you so) Gourmet.

These were a snap to put together (even whilst dying), even using a rolling pin (my downfall in life), and in an ill-equipped kitchen! Two bites of anything is perfect, in my honest opinion. Serve some blue cheese dressing or buffalo sauce for dipping and you’re set for the big game!

Truthfully, with the exception of the dough, he did all the work, baked them off, and went on merrily to a Super Bowl Party!

The recipe has the instructions for a stand mixer. I added what I did by hand under each step in my notes.

  • 1 C finely diced cooked chicken breast
  • 1/2 C crumbled blue cheese
  • 2 T shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 C hot sauce
  • 4 T unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 1/4 t rapid rise dry yeast
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 1 C warm milk
  • 2 1/2 C flour

NOTE: Could you use a rotisserie chicken? Yes. Next time I probably would. You could (GASP!) use some pre-made bread dough. But this dough came together quickly and easily, even by hand and was really lovely and pillowy and perfect, so the extra time was well worth it.

Stuffing

To make the buffalo chicken mixture, in a small bowl, combine the chicken, blue cheese, cheddar cheese, melted butter and hot sauce; set aside.

NOTE: We made the stuffing the night before and stuck it in the fridge. While making the dough, took it out of the fridge and come to room temperature.

Making dough

Heat the milk and add the 2 tablespoons brown sugar; stir the brown sugar into warm milk until dissolved; place in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook.

NOTE: In doing this by hand, after I dissolved the yeast in the milk, I sprinkled the yeast on top and let it bloom, then went on to add the flour.

Add 2 1/2 cups flour and yeast to the stand mixer and mix on low speed until a soft dough forms, adding up to 1/2 cup additional flour, a little at a time, if necessary. Allow the dough to knead in the stand mixer for 5-7 minutes.

NOTE: I added the the flour 1/2 cup at a time, starting with a wooden spoon and then my hands. From here, I followed the directions in the original recipe.

Turn out dough onto a lightly floured surface and gently knead a few times to form a smooth ball. Place dough into a clean bowl that’s been lightly oiled. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise in a draft-free place at warm room temperature until doubled and bubbles appear on surface, about 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 400°F with rack in the middle of the oven. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.

NOTE: So, if there’s no kitchen aide, you know there’s no parchment paper. We sprayed the baking sheet with cooking spray and it was fine, just a little messier on the clean up, which I didn’t do!

Turn out dough onto a lightly floured surface and cut into 4 equal pieces. Lightly dust your hands with flour, then gently roll and stretch 1 piece of dough to form a 12-inch-long rope. Flatten dough and arrange so a long side is nearest you, then roll out to a roughly 12- by 4-inch rectangle with a lightly floured rolling pin.

Cutting

NOTE: Looks like the drawing from The Little Prince … you know, the snake that swallowed the elephant?

Gently press one fourth of buffalo chicken mixture into lower third of rectangle, leaving a 1/2-inch border along bottom edge. Stretch bottom edge of dough up over filling and press tightly to seal, then roll up as tightly as possible to form a rope.

NOTE: I cut the excess dough off in the front and on the ends.

Cut rope into 12 pieces and transfer to a sheet pan. Make 3 more ropes with remaining dough, filling and cut into pieces, transferring to sheet pans. Let rest at room temperature, uncovered, 30 minutes (dough will rise slightly).

NOTE: Okay, so I didn’t see the let them rest for 30 minutes until JUST NOW. But they were fine and rose while baking.

Ready to bake

Bake buffalo chicken bites in the preheated oven for 5-7 minutes or until the tops are lightly browned. Remove from oven (some cheese may have melted out.) and brush tops with melted butter before serving (optional).

5 Responses

  1. Waving to Rick!!! Um I know what I’m making this weekend but I’ll really cheat and use biscuits in a can or frozen buns and just make them individually rather than 3 sets cut into pieces. Oh and Monteray Jack instead of cheddar but other than that I’m so making these.

  2. I am impressed! And love the Little Prince reference…

  3. […] Nick, for a Super Bowl party he was attending. You may remember the other recipe we made together, Buffalo Chicken Bites. Snarky comments aside, the chicken bites were […]

Leave a Reply

