• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Cranberry Juice

Ready to drink

I have COLD!

I have SNOW!

I have ICE!

I have freshly picked cranberries in my freezer, thanks to my friend Lisa! So there’s been breads, and cookies, and thrown in with pork and stuffing, and, of course, cranberry sauce. But I want to try something different and this was just the ticket!

I wanted healthy, virtuous even. It seems a lot of cranberries for not a lot of juice, makes about 1 quart and a half, but if you add vodka … or gin … a healthy squeeze of lime and some seltzer it stretches a long way!

  • 600 g (20 ozs) fresh cranberries (you can use frozen)
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 cup sugar

Cranberries

Place the cranberries and water in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce to medium heat and cover loosely. Simmer 10 min. until the cranberries have burst.

Straining

Strain through a colander lined with cheesecloth.

Draning berries

Resist the urge to press on the fruit to extract more juices.

Pour the strained juice back into the pot and add sugar. Bring to a boil and simmer for 3 minutes.

NOTE: I added the sugar a bit at a time, starting with a 1/2 cup. I didn’t want this to be too sweet.

Let cool to room temperature before cooling in the fridge.

2 Responses

  1. If I come to visit you’re not going to make me pick berries are you? It looks good and would only take two bags of Ocean Spray in lieu of the real deal fresh cranberries I can’t get in land locked Manitoba. But I still ain’t going to pick them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

