• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Hummus

Done 2

There’s been a lot of dust. There’s been a lot of noise. Beautiful work done, but filthy, dirty, hungry people are standing around and wondering if I have lost my senses by not feeding us soon enough. You know, that look the polar bears give the zoo keepers when they enter their habitats – ‘I hope you brought me food. If you didn’t, I think I may just eat you instead.’

Dinner is still a while off. You wanted help AND you want dinner? Hmmm … I am good, even magical perhaps, but being drafted as a dust and noise making assistant AND making dinner at the same time is a feat even I cannot achieve!

I need something to be munched on while I shower and degrunge myself. Please, sit, relax, munch, have a drink, munch, a smoke, munch …

Fortunately for me, I had the wherewithal to whip up a batch of hummus and pita chips in the morning while tea kettles were whistling and coffee makers were dripping.

So simple! Everything goes into the bowl of a food processor. Whirl. Pulse. Whirl. Pulse. Scrape. Taste. Adjust seasoning. Done.

So, dear polar bear, munch away, you don’t get to eat the zoo keeper! At least not today!

  • 1 15.5 oz. can of garbanzo beans (chickpeas), rinsed and drained well
  • 1 6 oz. container Greek plain yogurt
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 t pepper
  • 1/4 C olive oil
  • sprinkle of sweet paprika

NOTE: You can use regular, plain yogurt, but then you should drain it. I use a coffee filter in a strainer and let the liquid leach out.

Chick peas draining

Everything goes into the bowl of a food processor, except the olive oil. Pulse until smooth.

Drizzle in olive oil. Pulse until combined and smooth. Adjust lemon, salt and pepper to your liking.

Transfer to a bowl. Drizzle the top with a little olive oil, a sprinkle of paprika, some pita bread or pita chips, maybe olives, a big glass of wine and you’re ready to forget the day!

NOTE: Start with the above measurements and adjust the salt, pepper and lemon to your liking.

2 Responses

  1. you should try it with tahini. I’ll get my uncle’s recipe.

Leave a Reply

