Roasted Baby Artichokes

Ready to serve

Love artichokes. Love, love, LOVE artichokes.

And a stuffed artichoke is enough to send me over the moon.

When I saw the recipe for Roasted Baby Artichokes in Family Table by Michael Romano and Karen Stabiner, a collection of recipes from the staff of Danny Meyers’ restaurants, I immediately wanted to try it.

It should be noted, I already do have a favorite artichoke recipe from Lucinda Scala Quinn that I make constantly, but wanted to try something from my newly acquired cookbook.

Oh, wait, did I say newly acquired? Oops, no, ummmm, not newly, errrr, no, really, had it for ages. See, there’s a moratorium on NEW cookbooks, don’t ya know. So, I would never, ever … wink, wink, nudge, nudge …

Anyway, back to the artichokes …

It’s Mother’s Day. My Mom and I have decided to share the cooking for the day. We both really hate to eat out on holidays, love to be in the kitchen together and thought it would be fun to do. Mom made the chicken, Flat Roasted Chicken, another fav from my darling Lucinda, I was making a potato roast, another fav from Every Day Food and Mini New York Cheesecakes for dessert.

While shopping, my Mom saw and bought baby artichokes, the perfect side dish for us, and the hunt was on for a recipe.

Try this one, I says. It looks great, I says. Okay, send it to me and that’s what I’ll make, says my very indulgent, trusting Mom.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. Thanks for everything. And thank you for going through all the trouble this recipe caused.

  • ½ C olive oil
  • 4 T (1/4 cup) fresh lemon juice
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • ¼ t red pepper flakes
  • Salt and black pepper to taste
  • 12 baby artichokes (about 2 pounds)
  • 2/3 C grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
  • 1 C dried bread crumbs, preferably homemade or panko
  • 1/3 C coarsely chopped fresh Italian parsley

Place the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic and pepper flakes in a shallow 9×13 dish or bowl large enough to accommodate the artichokes.

Prep the artichokes: Slice the woody end of the stem. With a vegetable peeler, peel the outer layer of the stem. With a sharp knife, slice the top 1/2 inch of each artichoke. Peel away three or four layers of the tough outer leaves until you find lighter green layers. Slice the artichokes in half lengthwise. Remove the choke, if any.

NOTE: OMG, according to my Mom, this took a ridiculously long time. You end up with a HUGE pile of leaves and stems and teeny tiny bits of artichoke halves.

Place in the vinaigrette immediately to minimize discoloration. Allow artichokes to marinate for about 15 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Roasted

Remove the artichokes from the vinaigrette and transfer to the prepared baking sheet. Reserve any remaining vinaigrette.

NOTE: This makes a lot of vinaigrette.

Roast the artichokes for 30 minutes, or until fork tender when pierced all the way through.

Stuffing

Meanwhile, mix together the cheese, bread crumbs and parsley in a small, plus 2 tablespoons of the reserved vinaigrette.

NOTE: We added a lot more than 2 tablespoons of the vinaigrette. The bread crumb mixture was very, very dry and it really seemed to need more. Personally, I thought the breadcrumb mixture was too cheesey, needed a little lemon juice or zest, and more parsley, but my Mom and I both try recipes straight from the pages the first time and then play with it.

Stuffing artichokes

Spoon the bread crumb mixture onto each artichoke, then roast for 15 minutes, or until the bread crumbs are golden.

Serve hot or at room temperature.

Makes four to six side dish servings.

NOTE: Nope, not again. Dealing with the baby artichokes took any and all joy out of this recipe. Frozen artichokes make life easier. The stuffing, at least for us, needed a lot of changing. Lucinda, Rose’s Artichokes remain and will remain my absolute fav.

There are so many great recipes in this book. I can’t wait to try another, just not this one!

3 Responses

  1. Looks lovely! I’ve always wanted to stuff artichokes… I might try substituting some of the bread crumbs for quinoa and adding veggies to make it a meal!

  2. I love artichokes any way, I totally agree with you.

  3. Wow, those look fantastic.

Leave a Reply

