• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Cocoa Brownies

Cocoa Brownies

As the old song goes … you had a bad day… You’re taking one down … You sing a sad song just to turn it around … That song was the recurring theme with my loved ones this week. And this song just kept running through my exhausted, anxiety ridden brain over and over again.

We have had relationship difficulties, crossroads in life, upsets with parents, children running amok, worrying, hurt feelings, misunderstandings, jobs being lost, jobs being gotten again, frustrations, ill parents, anxiety, anger. Yikes! And all that before Wednesday! Not enough sleep. Too much bourbon. Too many cigarettes. Too much thinking.

You know the kind of thinking that is more like hamsters running on a wheel inside your head. They don’t stop. Then one tiny hill turns into Mt. Everest. I have named these little anxiety causing rodents Flo & Eddie (hopefully some of you out there remember who Flo & Eddie are).

And the song. The song. That song … Coz you had a bad day … over and over again.

Gotta turn this bad time around and quiet Flo & Eddie.

My idea of turning any bad time around has cooking in it, baking, and definitely has chocolate in it. I am quite sure FLo & Eddie like chocolate.

I already have a favorite brownie recipe, Loveys Brownies, but I have had this Cocoa Brownie recipe torn out of the Bon Appetit December 2012 issue staring at me, and then I saw it on Pinterest. Oh, Pinterest, how you tempt me! So I thought I would try something new.

I may rename these fudgey, cakey, moist gems You Had a Bad Day Brownies. They seem to be quieting all the brains around me roaring out of control. Make sure to completely cool the brownies before you cut into them or they fall apart a bit.

So there Flo & Eddie, take that!

  • Nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 1/2 C (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 1 1/4 C sugar
  • 3/4 C natural unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 t kosher salt
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 C all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 325°.

Line an 8x8x2 inches glass baking dish with foil, pressing firmly into pan and leaving a 2 inch overhang. Coat foil with nonstick spray; set baking dish aside.

Melt butter in a small sauce-pan over medium heat. Let cool slightly.

Dry

Whisk sugar, cocoa, and salt in a medium bowl to combine.

Panorama

Pour butter in a steady stream into dry ingredients, whisking constantly to blend. Whisk in vanilla. Add eggs one at a time, beating vigorously to blend after each addition. Add flour and stir until just combined (do not over mix).

Ready to bake

Scrape batter into prepared pan; smooth top.

Baked

Bake until top begins to crack and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with a few moist crumbs attached, 25-30 minutes.

Transfer pan to a wire rack; let cool completely in pan. Using foil overhang, lift brownie out of pan; transfer to a cutting board. Cut into 16 squares

NOTE: So you had a bad day. Flo & Eddie are spinning the wheel. This brownie will make your day better and quiet the rodents. I promise. Worked with my loved ones … and ME!

8 Responses

  1. Sorry for your bad day, bad week. These brownies would certainly help cheer me up…and a must bake recipe! Hope things improved as the week went on, Annie! xo

  2. I’ll remember this next time I have a bad day!

  3. Reblogged this on alyalyoxenfree28 and commented:
    My roommate gave up chocolate for Lent. I am making a chocolate feast for her this Easter Sunday and will be trying out these brownies! Yum!

  4. “…the kind of thinking that is more like hamsters running on a wheel inside your head.” Love this sentence, describes that state of mind perfectly. Glad those lovely cocoa brownies did the trick!

  5. I’d like to invite you to join the CookEatShare Author Network. I really enjoy your blog and I think the over 1 million unique montly visitors to CookEatShare.com will too.

    By joining our Author Network, your blog posts will be indexed and users will be guided to your actual blog when searching your recipes or profile.

    The service is free and easy to sign up for. Simply visit http://www.cookeatshare.com/blogs/apply or contact me at Kyra@cookeatshare.com. You’ll get a unique link to claim and customize your profile. We look forward having you in our network!

Leave a Reply

