• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Dark Chocolate Coconut Cherry Cookies

Done

I love baking. I love baking and having the house smell of freshly baked cookies. The problem is … well, the cookies themselves. There are so many. And, if they’re good, and I baked them so how could they be anything but good, then I eat WAY too many of them. And when I eat too many of them I get fat. When I get fat, my clothes don’t fit and I have to go shopping to buy new, larger clothes. That causes me to be depressed and what helps any girl’s depression? Cookies, and chocolate cookies. And then the circle begins again. I’m making these for folks who are thin. You know, those horrible NATURALLY thin people. And thin as they are, they doesn’t need too many cookies either. Though, truth be known, these are those ANNOYING people who can eat a cookie or two and walk away, a scoop of icecream and be satisfied, a handful of Cheez-Its and walk away (Like, REALLY, who eats a handful of Cheez-Its and walks away).

I think it far simpler to find a recipe on Christina’s lovely site Dessert for Two (remember the Mini New York Cheesecakes?)and bake just enough to satisfy the cookie and chocolate craving. I saw this recipe and knew I had to try it, though I did make a few changes, like using dried cherries instead of coconut and vanilla extract instead of almond extract.

Deep, dark, chocolatey flavor. The espresso just shoots them over the moon. May add a little less espresso powder the next time and perhaps a smidge of cinnamon. Love the cherries with the chocolate. The coconut oil gives a little background flavor that you can’t quite put a finger on. But WOW and yes, they’ll be baked again! Thanks, Christina, for another winner!

Go to her site. If you want to bake just a small batch, she has hundreds of recipes.

  • 1/3 C solid coconut oil
  • 2 T unsalted butter
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/8 t vanilla
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/2 t instant espresso powder (optional)
  • 1/4 C cocoa powder
  • 1/2 C flour
  • 1/2 C dark chocolate morsels
  • 1/2 C dried cherries

Preheat the oven to 350° F. Line a half sheet pan with parchment paper.

Ingredients 1

In a medium bowl, beat together with an electric mixer the coconut oil, butter, and sugar. Beat for 2 full minutes, until light and fluffy.

Next, add the egg and continue beating. Add the vanilla extract, salt, and espresso powder.

Adding dry

Finally, sprinkle on top the cocoa powder and flour. Beat until dough comes together.

Adding chips and cherries

Fold in the dark chocolate morsels and cherries by hand.

Ready to Bake

Divide the dough into 6 large balls and slightly flatten them with your hand.

Bake for 14 minutes, rotating the sheet half-way through.

Let cool for 1 minute on the sheet before moving to a wire rack to cool completely.

6 Responses

  1. This is such a marvelous looking bake! =D

  2. Magnificent cookies, Annie! I just made some mocha cookies and loved them way more than I expected. I think yours with the cherries, chocolate and coconut oil look even better!!!! xo

  3. Naturally skinny people who can walk away from desserts make me cranky. Not really, but i would love to be like THAT. These cookies look divine!

  4. Gorgeous brownies. I need to make these asap. Love chocolate and cherries together.

Leave a Reply

