• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Roasted Chicken with Tangerines and Olives

Done

Now, you all know I am a huge fan of EveryDay Food Magazine. Really, Martha, what were you thinking by getting rid of our beloved little digest!?

And there has never really been a recipe I tried from EveryDay Food that I haven’t liked … until now. I think it’s just a matter of taste as I am sure many have tried this and loved it, but the brininess of the olives and the sweetness of the tangerines … well, YUCK. It just didn’t work for me. That and someone around here does not like olives. That should have been my first clue.

It may work for you.

  • 1 whole organic chicken, cut into pieces
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 tangerines, unpeeled, quartered
  • 2 T tangerine juice
  • 2/3 C pitted green olives 4 oz
  • 4 large garlic cloves, crushed
  • 2 T honey

Ingredients

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Ready for oven

Arrange chicken pieces on a rimmed baking sheet. Season with salt and pepper. Add tangerines and olives and garlic to pan. Roast 30 minutes.

NOTE: I used only thighs.

Whisk together juice and honey. Remove pan from oven and brush chicken with juice mixture. Return to oven for another 10-15 minutes, until chicken is cooked through.

NOTE: If I make this again, I’ll skip the olives and perhaps add in fennel, or something that better compliments the tangerines.

2 Responses

  1. What a great combo. Always like a great new chicken dish.

  2. I bet the tangerines gave it such a nice brightness!

Leave a Reply

