• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Uncle Nicky’s Irish Cream

Irish Cream

They say that music hath charms to soothe the savage breast … and yes, it’s breast, not beast. I received 20 bonus points on an American History final for knowing just that!

But, I digress …

’round our house, my Irish cream recipe has charms to soothe the savage Dad, or any other grumpy person that comes our way when there’s a pitcher of this around. We traditionally have this Christmas morning, but every once in a while, the boy can cajole me into making it just ‘because’. This recipe came from my Uncle Nicky, I tweaked it a tiny bit, changing whiskey to Amraretto – a mellower flavor in my opinion. But make no mistake, whether whiskey or Amaretto, this goes down VERY quickly and will soothe any bah humbug person and go to your head rather quickly!

  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk (12oz)
  • 12oz. heavy cream
  • 2 T Honey
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 6-8oz of Amaretto
  • squirt or two of chocolate syrup

NOTE: I pour the heavy cream into the condensed milk can to make life easier. I usually go with 6 oz. We do, after all, usually drink this Christmas MORNING! You can sub in Whiskey or Bourbon if you prefer. I’ve never measured the squirt. It all depends on how chocolatey you like things. Add a squirt, blend taste, add more if that’s to your taste.

Ingredients

Throw everything in a blender, blend well. Chill and serve.

NOTE: Best ice cold.

I always use Amaretto instead of whiskey as it gives it a much more mellow flavour, but the same KICK!!!

3 Responses

  1. Looks great. I need to try this!

  2. Maybe you should rename it, Italian Cream! Looks delizioso!

  3. […] Whisky Guinness (Steak & Guinness Pie) Uncle Nicky’s Irish Cream Irish Stew Beer St. Patrick’s Day Parade in NYC […]

Leave a Reply

