Apple Chips

This fabulous recipe for Caramelized Apple Chips is from the September 2012 Southern Living magazine. I know it’s been making the food blog rounds like wildfire, but I found this over at Tracey’s Culinary Adventures. I fell in love. It was bookmarked into my to do list. And there it sat. And sat. And sat.

And along came Winter Storm Athena, the nor’easter that slammed the Northeast so soon after our dear Sandy departed. Betcha didn’t know they named winter storms too! I surely didn’t. Gotta give it to those news guys … anything for a nifty logo and a theme song.

So here I am, locked away in my house AGAIN, dealing with the elements raging outside my windows and desperately trying to not write a letter to Mayor Bloomberg BEGGING him to stop repeating his announcements in Spanish. His Spanish makes my ears bleed and disturbs my sensibilities.

It seems within certain ethnicities, food and cooking is the solution to most of life’s problems. Some people eat to live, and others (like me and those I hold nearest and dearest) live to eat. We discuss lunch during breakfast, dinner during lunch, and what will we eat tomorrow during dinner.

Cooking. It’s MY solution to everything.  Oh, you’re sick? I’ll cook. You had a car accident? I’ll make you a little something. Fired from your job? How about a strudel? Locked in the house again ready to pull your hair out? APPLE CHIPS!

Now be forewarned. The apples need to be VERY thinly sliced. I think I sliced mine a little too thinly using my handy dandy handheld Kyocera Mandolin. It comes with a guard, don’t you know. Did I use it? NOPE. Everything went along swimmingly … well, until it didn’t. Slice, slice, slice, apple gets stuck, fingers kept going. You get the picture. USE THE GUARD.

These were really yummy, though very sweet. I think next time I’ll add a little lemon juice to the simple syrup and perhaps a sprinkle of cinnamon.

  • 1 small apple (I used a Gala)
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1 C water

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Place a wire rack inside of a rimmed baking sheet and spray the rack lightly with nonstick cooking spray.

Cut the apple into very thin slices. You don’t need to core or peel the apple, but remove the seeds from the slices.

Add the sugar and water to a 3-qt saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Add the apple slices and cook, stirring frequently, for about 10 minutes, or until they are translucent and the syrup has reduced and thickened slightly.

Use tongs to remove the slices from the syrup and place them on the wire rack in a single layer.

Bake the apples for about 15-20 minutes, or until they’re golden in color. The baking time will vary depending on the thickness of your apple slices – I found the best indicator of doneness to be color. Don’t be concerned if the slices aren’t crisp when they become golden – mine definitely weren’t – the chips will crisp as they cool.

Transfer the chips to a sheet of waxed paper lightly coated with nonstick cooking spray and let them cool completely, about 10 minutes.

NOTE: With the exception of nearly taking the tips of three fingers off, these were really great. GUARD! USE THE GUARD! But, they make a quick and yummy snack!

3 Responses

  1. These look tasty & beautiful :-)

  2. I have exactly the same mandolin… know what I may be trying soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers