Hurricane Sandy Faux Donuts ~ FAUXNUTS!

OMG! It’s a hurricane.

The water is coming! The wind is coming!

We need provisions! (as if this were a provisionless home!) I went to the market on Saturday, like I always do. I went with the same list I always go with … bananas, skim milk, chocolate milk, cold cuts, bread, veggies, pretzels …

People were shopping as though the end of the world were coming. As I approached the check out a woman looked at me and said “FOOD! You need FOOD! What are YOU going to do without food!?” I looked at her and said, “First, I have a freezer full of food. Second, you do realize, that they WILL deliver food again?” She looked at me as though I were completely daft.

In hindsight, I’m glad I shopped the way I did. My neighborhood was part of the lucky few areas that kept its lights, was whomped by wind, but not a LOT of damage, a tree here and there, but came through reasonably unscathed.

AND THEN THE BOREDOM STRIKES … yes, we are safe, but we can’t leave Brooklyn (a horror almost too much to bear), can’t get to work (yes, even I am itching to go to work!), can’t buy gas, certainly can’t give up a parking space! Stores are closed all over. Traffic is EVERYWHERE. How much time can you spend with loved ones before someone has to … well, someone must DIE …

The solution make donuts to tame the beasts and alleviate the boredom of the chief cook and bottle washer.

And here comes Pinterest again! While trolling through Pinterest one day I came across these lovely donuts pinned by a blogger over at Little Bit Funky. Seriously simple. All the donut without all the hassle. A new experiment to keep me occupied for a while.

Well, the donuts are one, two, three easy to make … but I had to cut the holes, decide to make the donut holes too, get my camera, set everything up, take pictures, sit and go through them, write this blog post, add the photos and press the publish button. OH, and I ate them as well!!

These easy peasy donuts gave me unending amounts of pleasure.

  • Canned biscuits ~ I used Pillsbury Buttermilk Grands. Anything BUT flakey ones.
  • 4 T melted butter in a shallow bowl
  • Sugar & Cinnamon in a another shallow bowl (this amount really goes by taste)
  • Vegetable or Canola oil to fill a pan up about 1/2 inch or so.

Heat oil over a medium flame.

While it is heating up, cut holes in the donuts with a cookie cutter or some other circular object. I used a Wilton medium sized flower fondant cutout.

Once cut, gently put into hot oil. When one side is golden brown, flip.

When the second side is golden, remove from oil and let drain on paper towel lined plate.

When the donuts have cooled enough to handle, dip one side in the melted butter, let the excess drip off, dip in cinnamon and sugar mixture, getting it nice and coated.  Repeat for the other side.

Thank goodness there are a number of kids on my block! These HAD TO GET OUT of the house before I ate every last one!

OH!! And I fried the faux-nut holes too! Piped some jelly inside and rolled them in powdered sugar. YUMMMMMM!

One Response

  1. I loved these fauxnuts as a kid! Nostalgia!

Leave a Reply

