• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Homemade Magic Shell

When I was a kid, I loved to take these apart and try to see how they went together. Most of the time I could take them apart, see how they worked and then put them back together – usually, with success, but not always!

I have the same curiosity when it comes to food.  I have made Sweet Chili Sauce, have ketchup scheduled to make and mustard.

And then one day, poking around the internet I saw recipes for Magic Shell popping up everywhere! Oh, I had to try this. I LOVE Magic Shell. And being able to make my own, if it works,  would be so FREAKIN’ COOL!

This definitely falls under the category of Ernie SHOUTING ‘ WHY? WHY? WHY?’.

Why? I’ll tell you why … It’s liquid, it hits something cold and hardens? WHY? HOW?

When I had to take physics in college – what a nightmare – and a term paper had to be written – double nightmare – mine was done on kitchen physics. My professor thought I was nuts, until he started reading. It was fascinating and remarkable. Who knew physics could be so much fun and so relatable!? It answered so many ‘why’ questions.

But do not despair, Ernie, this was simple and quick and not messy.

  • 1 1/4 C chocolate chips
  • 1/2 C coconut oil (when solid)

NOTE: I bought the coconut oil at Trader Joe’s. I know they sell it in the local health food store. I know Amazon sells it as well.  Also, when I made it, it was quite warm in New York. I put the coconut oil in the refrigerator until it became solid., then scooped it out and continued on.

Place the chocolate chips and coconut oil in a glass bowl and microwave for 30 seconds.  Remove from microwave and stir.  Continue to microwave in 15 second bursts, stirring in between, until the chocolate is almost all melted.  Stir until the chips are all melted and the lumps are gone.

Pour into a glass jar and store on the counter.

NOTE: The mixture will stay liquid at room temperature in warmer months, if it lasts that long! If it’s cooler it may solidify a bit, simply microwave briefly before serving.

NOTE:  All I can say is WOW! Super cool! The flavor is spot on ~ AND IT WORKED! My curious side sated for the tiniest bit of time. I poured it over Ben & Jerry’s Bonnaroo’s Coffee Caramel Buzz ice cream – Coffee and Malt ice cream, whiskey caramel swirl and chocolate covered English toffee. All I can say is I have loved ones begging me to make it for them. In good time, sweetie, all in good time.

6 Responses

  1. I love that stuff! Thanks for the recipe!

  2. YUM! I LOVE that you wrote a paper on Kitchen Physics. My dad was a college physics professor…but when he starts talking technical, my eyes glaze over 🙂

  3. I can’t wait to surprise my hubby and kids with this. I don’t believe my kids have ever had magic shell and I’m thinking that I’ll amaze them and my hubby used to be addicted to the stuff when we were teens. Winning! 🙂

  4. […] homemade versions of things so easily purchased in a supermarket … ketchup,  tater tots, magic shell, to name a few. I’m not quite sure if it’s my childlike (notice I said childLIKE and […]

Leave a Reply

