• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Arroz con Frijoles Negro

Long day.

Seriously long day.

Not always easy being the President of Jerk Work.

sometimes when I get home to my empty house I don’t want to cook and I don’t care if anyone else eats later tonight or tomorrow or next week. All I want are PJs and a pillow.

Very, very selfish of me, I know.

Quick solution? A store bought rotisserie chicken, tortillas, the fixings to go with (avocado, cilantro, onions, sour cream, etc.) and Arroz con Frijoles Negro.

For Cinco de Mayo, the Holiday Recipe Club gave us three ingredients to choose, one of them being tomatoes! This recipe fits right in and so here we go!

HAPPY CINCO de MAYO!!

This is so simple it’s almost embarrassing to post!

    • 1/2 red onion, chopped
    • 1 (10.5 oz.) can black beans, rinsed well
    • 1 t cumin
    • 1/2 t chili powder
    • 1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes
    • 1 chipolte pepper in adobo chopped
    • 2 cups cooked rice
    • 1/4 C chopped cilantro

NOTE: I totally cheated here and used instant brown rice and made it in the microwave. You can use whatever form of rice that makes you happy.

Add one tablespoon of olive oil to a saute pan and add the onions. Saute onions until they begin to wilt.

Add the drained and rinsed black beans and stir.

Add the cumin and chili powder. Stir to combine. Let cook for 1 to 2 minutes and add the chopped chipolte and tomatoes.  Stir to combine and let simmer gently for a couple of minutes.

Add rice and cilantro. Mix well, make sure everything is warm and serve.



15 Responses

  1. That’s not cheating! That’s smartly bringing mexican food to your table more quickly! And I approve!

  2. Looks yummy!

  3. I just found your site on foodblogs.com so I thought I would stop by and take a peek. I just subscribed to your blog feed and can’t wait to see what your next post will be!

  4. Yum! What a wonderful recipe! I love it!!

  5. Seriously, some of the best recipes are the simplest! This looks fabulous!

  6. I don’t think this is cheating. I think it looks and sounds delicious! I think rotisserie chickens are a wonderful thing! Great recipe!

  7. Mmmm. That sounds really good. I love the combo of rice and black beans and great spices.

  8. MMMM. I love the combo of black beans and rice and great spices. I think you created a great recipe for your quick weeknight dinner.

  9. Sometimes, dinner on the fly is the most satisfying because you still got it on the table!

  10. Instant rice is perfect for quick meals! I love it. I want this tonight, it sounds amazing. I am so glad you were able to participate 🙂

  11. This is such a great way to use up leftover beans too! I love this one.

  12. Not cheating! Looks like a great Mexican dish!

  13. I’m with you on slipping into the PJ’s, this is a whole meal in one…perfect for PJ day.

  14. SO simple and flavorful!!! Great way to round out a meal on an exhausting day. Perfect for the HRC…so glad you joined us!!! xo

Leave a Reply

