• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Torta Senza Riso

I am so pleased to be participating in the Holiday Recipe Club (if you want to join click on the link and send in an email)! I love these blog hops. So much fun to see what everyone else is doing and cooking and baking. I particularly love that this one is no pressure. I don’t work well with deadlines. This one is simple ~ a few weeks before the holiday you’re sent a list of ingredients. You have to use 1, 2 or all 3 in your recipe. How much fun is that?

Back to the cooking!

Growing up, one of my favorite things to have at any holiday was my Great Grandmother’s Torta. Plain and simple – a flaky pie-like crust, spinach, rice, parmigiano, eggs, baked and fabulousness. Then my Mother throws a wrench into the works with a recipe by her friend Celeste for something very similar, that she has now tweaked, but without the rice and using ricotta.

  • 1 pie crust ~ deep dish
  • 1 – 6 oz. bag baby spinach, roughly chopped
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 16 oz ricotta
  • heaping 1/4 C parmigiano
  • 1/4 t fresh ground pepper

NOTE: For you do-it-yourselfers out there, by all means make the pie crust. I used a Pillsbury pie crust.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Roughly chop the spinach and saute until cooked down. Let cool and squeeze dry. If you don’t squeeze it dry, the whole thing will be too soggy and watery.

Mix spinach, eggs, ricotta, parmigiano and pepper in a bowl.

Pour into pie crust, smooth out top and bake for about 45 until lightly brown on top.

This makes a wonderful lunch, light supper with a salad, or side dish.

14 Responses

  1. Looks delicious! Great creation for HRC!

  2. Oh my, this is right up my alley! I adore cheese and spinach together.

  3. This looks delicious! I’ll bet it is great with the rice also!

  4. Oh, Annie, this looks amazing! And how fun that the recipe was passed down and tweaked through generations! So happy to have you join us with the HRC! xo

  5. This is too funny. Katherine wanted to make a kale pie the other day and couldn’t find a recipe to play with. So she made a bread bake. Bookmarking!

  6. Ooh this sounds really good! Any recipe passed down has to be good right? I am so glad you were able to join us 🙂

  7. fabulous is a great word to describe this! I have just given you an award 🙂

  8. This sounds delicious! I love this kind of dish for breakfast and for dinner.

  9. Any dish incorporating more spinach is tops with me!

  10. This is right up my alley, it looks so creamy!

  11. Just connect to your site via Greg’s.

    Sometimes the simplest combination of ingredients can be the best. Sounds so good!

    cheers,
    Jed
    http://sport-glutton.com
    Sports, Food, Libations, & More

  12. Oh yummy! This looks fantastic =)

  13. I am digging this recipe – spinach is a favourite of mine 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

