• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Malted Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’s been way too long.

I think I finally have this Mac figured out – sort of!

The longer you are away the longer it takes to get back into the blogosphere.

Most of you have been encouraging and patient. Some downright nasty (see my middle finger sticking up at you WHILE I type – I am multi-talented)

If I have to get my mind wrapped back around blogging, I may as well start with cookies! It’s the starting that’s the most discouraging. Once you get into the kitchen and get all the ingredients ready, start sifting and stirring, you realize just how much you miss the kitchen, the smells, the sounds, and definitely the tastes.

What better place to get my feet wet again than with Ree Drummond’s easy-breezy, comfort style of cooking and baking.

These cookies are so good. The malted milk powder gives it a wonderfully nostalgic taste of Whoppers. The cookies are chewy and crisp. An absolutely perfect bite of cookie!

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 C light brown sugar
  • 3/4 C granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 t vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C (rounded) malted milk powder
  • 2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 t baking soda
  • 1 1/4 t salt
  • One 12 oz. bag milk chocolate chips

NOTE: The second time I made these I tried semi-sweet chips. Didn’t like them as much! The milk chocolate and malted milk powder keep that Whoppers taste to the cookies.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Cream the butter, then add both sugars and cream until fluffy. Add the eggs and beat slightly, then add the vanilla and beat until combined. Add the malted milk powder and beat until combined.

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and salt. Add to the butter mixture, beating gently until just combined. Add the chocolate chips and stir in gently.

Drop by cookie scoopfuls onto a baking sheet lined with parchment. Be sure to leave plenty of space between the cookies, they spread out A LOT. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes. The cookies will be very flat and very chewy.

 Allow to cool slightly before removing from pan with a spatula.

WOW! Were these a great place to start! These are definitely going in the cookie rotation!

9 Responses

  1. I’ve made these cookies before and they’re SO good. Malted milk is a great ingredient.

  2. Cookies are a great way to start Or restart. They look great.

  3. Glad to see you back! You have been missed…

  4. I love this recipe, but for the beginner over here please tell me.

    What happens if you cook this without parchment. Is parchment like wax paper? I googled this http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/350365.

    I am guessing you use parhment paper for even cooking but after reading how flammable it might be I got a bit nervous I could start a fire.

    Can I follow the recipe but just use my non stick teflon cookie sheet and cookie dough on an ungreased or greased cookie sheet?

    Or could I substitute wax paper instead of parchment?

    I just started baking cookies recently. I get so nervous taking them out of the oven when they look so uncooked and then I made the mistake twice of putting them back in the oven only to burn them.

    They would look perfect but taste overcooked.

    I finally realized I had to get more confidence in my recipes and follow directions carefully especially the cooking time. It amazes me how they harden within minutes and become cookies when left out.

  5. These cookies look heaavenly – I love malted milk powder in any recipe! Gorgeous spread in these cookies!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Rich Sticky Date Pudding w/ Butterscotch Sauce

  6. Good to see you back! Cookies are the best!

  7. Well, welcome back! Great cookies to start back with!

  8. Woo hoo, this is certainly a great way to kick off the “new” year with posts. Glad you’ve gotten everything straightened out; your blog has been missed, especially your sharp tongue. It makes me very happy. I had a good laugh at the multitasking and flipping us off part. Thanks! I don’t think I every complained, right. I hope not. I would deserve a good middle finger shoved my direction. How rude!

  9. Welcome back! These look great.

Leave a Reply

