Slow Roasted Tomatoes

French Fridays with Dorie is one of my favorite cook-alongs.

Sadly, I lent my Around My French Table to a friend and have missed quite a few in the past couple of months.

But the book is back! And so am I!

Slow roasted tomatoes. What can I say? Slow roasted (3 HOURS!) grape or cherry tomatoes, with garlic, extra virgin olive oil and herbs!  The simplest of ingredients, the simplest of preparation, and you are left with smokey, sweet, rich, deep flavored, ruby tomatoes.

Yowzer!

Dorie suggested rosemary, but I have an abundance of oregano, so I used that instead. Thyme would be good too! It’s all up to you!

We had these over ribeyes last night and the rest were used up on pasta for my hubby’s dinner tonight.

I wish I could give you the recipe – buy the book, it’s SO worth it!

20 Responses

  1. I love doing this. There’s a timbale in I think the Silver Spoon that uses these as a basis. Mmm.

  2. One of my favorite things to do with tomatoes, such great flavor. We often enjoy then on a pesto and fresh mozzarella pizza.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  3. Mmm, looks GREAT! I can’t believe I haven’t gotten my hands on that cookbook yet — the recipes look so yummy.

  4. Looks yummy! I’ve seen a few versions of this (between Friday and today) and I think I’m going to have to give this a try.

  5. SO glad you got your book back…are you ready for the salmon in the jar???

  6. These look fantastic. Love the whole stems of fresh herbs!

  7. I too love slow roasting tomatoes with herbs. What a great combo!

  8. Slow roasting with herbs…tomato heaven

  9. Oh wow, they look amazing. I really need to try this, we have a fridge full of tomatoes and more growing outside.

  10. Lovely, I use the Skye Gyngell recipe. Waiting for my garden tomatoes to ripen before making the next batch!

  11. I have been eating a lot of roasted tomatoes. In fact, I ate them as a side to my turkey burger tonight. I love them!

  12. Looks like you picked a good one to come back on! I am sure the fresh oregano went beautifully with the tomatoes.

  13. These tomatos look delicious, I can almost smell them! Perfect to go in tomato bread. GG

  14. I tagged you in the 7 Links game. Have a great weekend!

  15. what nice roasted tomatos! gloria

  16. We must be on the same wave length, my dear! I am obsessed with roasting tomatoes this Summer- they are so so so delicious.

Leave a Reply

