Lovey’s Brownies

 

In March 1990 Food & Wine had a special chocolate issue. On the cover of the issue was a brownie recipe called Lovey’s Brownies. Many of the staffers contributed recipes for this issue. This particular brownie recipe came from the mother of someone from Food & Wine.

March of 1990 was also the month and year my mother became a grandmother. She had visions of making wonderful cookies and brownies and cakes for her precious Lovey. When she saw this recipe, she knew this would be the perfect brownie recipe for her grandson.

Much to my mother’s chagrin, Tommy is not a chocolate fan. But HIS mother is! I love this brownie recipe. It’s simple to put together, makes a generous amount of gooey, rich brownies, and uses only one pot!

Try these brownies. I promise you will fall in love with them too! It is just as simple to make these brownies as it is to reach for a box of brownie mix – and these taste so much better!

  • 2 sticks (8 oz.) unsalted butter
  • 4 oz. unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 2 C sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 t kosher salt
  • 1 C walnuts, coarsely chopped (optional)
  • 1 t instant espresso
  • 1/2 t cinnamon

NOTE: I usually leave out the nuts. My husband is not a nut fan – he just likes to drive me nuts which is slightly different.  The espresso and cinnamon are my addition to this recipe. It just adds a certain – hmm, what is that flavor to the brownies. Feel free to leave them out or add more in!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 13″x9″x2″ baking dish.

In a large saucepan, heat the butter over a low flame until it’s half-melted. Add the chocolate and stir until the butter and chocolate are completely melted and combined. 

Remove the butter and chocolate from the heat and stir in the sugar with a wooden spoon until incorporated.

NOTE: I am not sure about the importance of a wooden spoon, but it seemed an important detail so who am I to mess with perfection.

Using the wooden spoon, beat in the eggs, 1 at a time, mixing well after each egg until the eggs are fully incorporated and the chocolate mixture is shiny.  Stir in the vanilla extract. Add the flour and salt all at once and mix until blended. Add the espresso powder and cinnamon. If using, stir in the chopped walnuts.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake for 30 minutes, or until the brownies are slightly firm to the touch and a toothpick inserted in the center indicates that they’re moist (but not dry!). Do not over bake.

Let the brownies cool completely in the pan.

NOTE: I have added chocolate chips into the batter. I have sprinkled the top with fleur de sel before baking. You can tailor this to your own style and tase. But, whatever you do, I dare you to eat just one!

 

16 Responses

  1. Looks wonderful!

  2. Simple and perfect looking brownies.

  3. These look fantastic. So chocolatey.

  4. Such a great recipe, I can see why it stood the test of time.

  5. I just love brownies. They are such a simple pleasure though it is interesting how many different variations there are. Love the addition of espresso and hint of cinnamon here. Sad to see you put nuts in though ;). I am definitely a purist when it comes to brownies.

    • There ain’t a single nut in there! THe nuts are in the original recipe. My hubby HATES nuts in brownies so you will never find one in mine! I left the option there for those that likes them!

  6. Such a great recipe! Those brownies look wonderful!

  7. Oh my, I need a lovey to make these for!!

  8. the cinnamon is a great addition of flavor in these I would love that idea and will try that next time! Bravo!

  9. Always happy to find a new wonderful brownie recipe, chocaholic that I am.

  10. These look rich, chewy, chocolatey and delicious! The perfect brownie:-)

  11. Another brownie for me to fall in love with- I have a problem committing to just one recipe!

  12. Everyone should have a great brownie recipe. These look really nice and fudgy. Great job!
    *kisses* HH

  13. […] already have a favorite brownie recipe, Loveys Brownies, but I have had this Cocoa Brownie recipe torn out of the Bon Appetit December 2012 issue staring […]

  14. These are the best brownies in the world. I used to make these for my husband (then boyfriend) and I think they are why he asked me to marry him. So awesome that you had this recipe online, I had the issue of Food and Wine for years and I lost it somehow probably during a move. Thank you for posting it.

Leave a Reply

