Tzatziki

One of the things that always summer to me is lamb on the BBQ. And nothing goes better with grilled lamb than Tzatziki. I have never had a recipe for tzatziki before, always making it from what rattles around in my noggin. For this fo round, I used a recipe from The Greek Cook by Rena Salaman.

The only difference is my adding lemon juice and lemon zest and my insane straining of anything with extra liquid!

  • 6-8 ounces plain yogurt
  • 6 inch piece of cucumber, peeled and thickly grated
  • 1 or 2 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh mint
  • salt

NOTE: Hate mint. Yuck. Left it out. I may be one of the few Greeks on the planet that dislikes mint!

NOTE NOTE: I buy plain greek yogurt. If you buy regular plain yogurt strain it first. Coffee filters are an amazing invention. I don’t drink coffee but always have them on hand to line a fine mesh strainer with. They keep what your straining in one place and don’t fall apart.

NOTE NOTE NOTE: After I grate the cucumbers, I let those strain a bit too, and then squeeze them dry. You don’t have to do this, but I like my tzatziki thicker.

Put the yogurt in a bowl and add the cucumber and mix. Add the garlic, mint, olive oil (if using), lemon juice, zest, and salt. Mix well. Cover with plastic wrap and chill lightly.

Fabulous with grilled lamb or chicken – we had this with lamb sausage – or with pita chips.

13 Responses

  1. Ha, I love mint, but that made me laugh. This looks great to me with or without it. Now, I want to grill some lamb.

  2. Looks wonderful! GMTA…I made some on Sunday night for dinner with chicken souvlaki…still have a little left in the fridge. We love it!
    Great pics!
    L~xo

  3. Ha! I like how you admitted you don’t like mint. This looks like a great recipe. Can’t wait to try it!

  4. I love Tzatziki with chicken or with some pita. But in all fairness I could throw Tzatziki on probably just about anything 🙂

  5. My sister just whips this together throwing in a bit of this and that and it always tastes wonderful. I NEED a recipe…so glad you’ve posted a winner!

  6. i am a total sucker for such simple and tasty snacks. i have had this before but didn’t know what it was called. thanks for posting this recipe 🙂

  7. Love tsatsiki and love mint! We eat this all through the summer.

  8. Wonderful – love mint too and could make this with my home made yogurt and cucumbers from the garden. Love the tortilla recipe too!

  9. I’m like you, I drain everything very well so the tzatziki is nice and thick. You make it just the way I like it, garlicky and no mint.

  10. Good tips (coffee filters and straining cukes), thanks. I looooove mint. My husband for example loves mint but hates anything mint flavored (ice cream, chocolate, gum, candy). Interesting that you hate it…haven’t met many but we all have our dislikes.

  11. […] served this with hummus and pita chips to start, lemony potatoes, fatoush salad and tzatziki. YUM! The rest of the recipes to follow! Rate this:Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

