• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Poached Salmon with Green Goddess Dressing

We’re back to the hot. The humidity. The I-cannot-face-the-kitchen time of year. This week has been the worst so far this year!

As I sat making my menu for the week, watching a little too perky Claire Robinson make shrimp with Green Goddess dressing, making poached salmon with her Green Goddess dressing seemed like a perfect alternative to slaving over a hot stove or turning on the oven.

Don’t get me wrong, I like Claire. Many of her recipes are great. I love the concept – 5 Ingredient Fix, Sometimes she’s a little too – well, excited and I watch these shows early in the morning and while I am a good morning person, perky can be a bit much.

This would be simple. Poaching takes no more time than bringing the water to a boil.

I made this first thing in the morning and once cooled, I put everything in the fridge until dinner.

For the Green Goddess dressing

  • 1 C creme fraiche
  • 1 T chopped fresh tarragon
  • 2 scallions, roughly chopped
  • 1 t finely grated lemon zest
  • 2 t freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • Freshly cracked black pepper

NOTE: If you can’t find creme fraiche, use sour cream. If you don’t like tarragon, switch to an herb you do like! This is one of those make to suit your taste things.

Puree the creme fraiche, tarragon, scallions, zest and lemon juice in food processor until smooth. Season with salt and pepper.

That’s it! Done. Into the fridge. Whatever is leftover is good on cold veggies or on a salad.

Now, on to poaching the salmon. This may be easier. Place the salmon into a Saute pan that has a cover. You need enough water to almost cover the salmon.

From there the flavoring is up to you. I wanted to match the flavors of the dressing so I added tarragon to the water, as well as bay leaves, a shallot, cracked pepper, and lemon slices. You can certainly add white wine to this, I have in the past. Again, poach the salmon with the flavors that you like.

Bring the water to a simmer. Cover. Let simmer for 5 minutes, turn off the flame and let the salmon sit in the water for about 5 minutes.

Easy and quick. Your house stays cools. It looks like you fussed, but we know the truth.

I served mine with steamed potatoes that I added a pat of butter and chopped tarragon to, and steamed broccoli with lemon zest.

16 Responses

  1. That looks wonderful!!!! Extra exclamation points intended to demonstrate my own perkiness.

  2. I’m not a perky morning person. Nope, not at all.

    This looks great.

  3. I have a bad craving for green goddess dressing! Never would think to pair it with salmon. Love it!

  4. That dressing looks really tasty and creamy. Great post!

  5. Love the picture of the poaching salmon!

  6. Can you believe I have never poached salmon?! Thanks for the how-to and the photo truly helps. The Green Goddess dressing sound and looks fantastic. It’s one of my favorite dressings ever.

    • Thanks. The thing I like about it the most is I can put it on first thing in the morning or later in the evening when it’s not too hot. And then leave it to cool and then put in the fridge!

  7. This looks like a great dish, especially for summer time eating – the dressing sounds divine. I’m with you, too – too much perky, especially first thing in the morning, can be very irritating!!
    Sue 🙂

  8. Oh yum! Dinner ready in no time? Sign me up!

  9. […] Recipe Author: From the Bookshelf (support the author by visiting their site) […]

  10. Congratulations! We wanted to inform you that this post has been selected as a Featured Archive Post on our site for the last two weeks of March 2013.

  11. […] View this recipe on the Author's site […]

Leave a Reply

