Cilantro Fries

I am now totally enamored by Marcela Valladolid. I like her style. I love all the fresh ingredients and, especially, that most of them are easily found!

On the same show that inspired me to make Burgers al Pastor, Marcela made Cilantro Fries. The recipe below is Marcela’s. I changed it a bit for what we were doing that day.  My changes are in my notes as you read through. Marcela made these in the oven using frozen fries, I made these on the grill using fresh fries. Seriously, why turn on the oven if you don’t have to!

  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro
  • 1 small clove garlic
  • 1 (28-ounce) bag frozen potato wedges, preferably organic, thawed
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt

NOTE: Instead of frozen potato wedges, I cut potatoes into slices, first cutting the potatoes in half lengthwise and then into planks, lengthwise, maybe about 1/4″ thick.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Grease a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.

NOTE: I always cook the potatoes in the microwave before putting them on the grill. This gives them an advance cooking and they don’t take forever on the grill.

Combine the cilantro and garlic in a food processor and process until combined.

NOTE: I also added the oil to the food processor.

Toss the potato wedges with the cilantro-garlic mixture and the olive oil, coating evenly.

Spread the potatoes wedges onto the prepared baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes, flipping the potatoes after 10 minutes to crisp on the other side. Season the potatoes with the salt and serve.

NOTE: After the microwave, I added the cilantro mixture to the potatoes, tossed and put the potatoes onto a sheet of foil and placed it on the grill.

WONDERFUL!

12 Responses

  1. That’s some serious cilantro. Bet they’re wonderful.

  2. Anything that includes cilantro is fine by me…these look really interesting! Thanks for sharing!

  3. I absolutely love cilantro. If I could put it on all my food, I would. Great post!

  4. I really like these..garlic and cilantro are a wonderful combo
    thanx for sharing

  5. I really enjoy her show as well! The fries look so good! I also have cilantro on hand, so I want to try these.

  6. Mmmm….I never would have thought of adding cilantro to potatoes…what a wonderful idea!!! A great new side dish for Mexican entrees…I always gravitate to rice.

  7. The pastor burgers and these fries are definitely a winning combination! I really like Marcela Valladolid’s show too. My husband begs me on a monthly basis to make the chocoflan (flan layered on top of a chocolate cake), but I’m a little intimidated by it.

  8. I’ve never had wedges with cilantro… I think it’d be a good idea to try out though… My potato wedges have a whole bunch of spices, but I never really considered adding “greens” to them… 🙂

Leave a Reply

