Corn and Black Bean Salad

I know. It’s been a long time. I just haven’t been able to get my head in the game. But I am back. And it’s Thursday. Which means it is Every(thurs)day Food Recipe day!

I loved the July/August 2011! Then again, I love anything that is chock full of simple, it’s-to-hot-to-cook recipes!

So here I was making these fabulous Burgers al Pastor – you have to make these, they were seriously slammin’ – with Cilantro Fries – yet to come! – and needed some sort of salad to tie it all together, but within in my FIESTA theme! Everyday Food and Corn and Black Bean Salad to the rescue!

  • 1 T vegetable oil
  • 2 C corn kernels
  • 1 (15.5 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 t seeded, and minced Serrano chile
  • 4 t chopped cilantro
  • 1 T lime juice
  • 1/2 avocado, pitted, peeled and diced medium
  • coarse salt & pepper to taste

NOTE: Obviously, fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice. I couldn’t find Serrano chilis – well, the husband couldn’t – so I used jalapeno. You will get about 2 cups of corn from 3 ears of fresh corn. Go with the fresh if you can.

In a large, nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium high heat.  Add corn and cook, stirring occasionally, until the corn is browned in spots, should be about 3 minutes.

Transfer corn to a large bowl. Add balance of ingredients. Stir well. Serve immediately.

Really, does it get easy than this!?

6 Responses

  1. I love making corn salsas in the summer. Great recipe. I’ve never added avocado.

  2. This looks fabulous! I love corn and black bean salads…and the addition of avocado is key to making it extra delicious~

  3. No!! It doesn’t get any better than this!! Fresh ingredients, zesty salad = summer!

  4. I remember your burgers, and this looks like a perfect side salad. Great post!

  5. This looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

