Burgers al Pastor

I love burgers!

I love tacos al pastor!

How thrilled was I when flipping through my DVR’d collection of cooking shows I saw Marcela Valladolid‘s Mexican Made Easy making BURGERS AL PASTOR!

To quote a recent crazy person – WINNING!

Oh, wait! It gets better! Marcela had super duper burger guy Spike Mendelsohn making these fabulous burgers with her!

Now, between Marcela, the ingredients, Spike and the absolute love in our house for burgers and tacos al pastor, this was a burger that HAD to be made!

  • 6 dried guajillo chiles, stemmed, seeded and soaked
  • 2 t crumbled dried marjoram
  • 2 t crumbled dried oregano
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1 small white onion, chopped, divided
  • 1/2 C sweetened pineapple juice
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/4 t ground pepper
  • 2 pounds extra-lean ground pork
  • Vegetable oil
  • 1 pineapple, peeled, cored and sliced into 1/2-inch thick rounds
  • 1/2 C mayonnaise
  • 8 sesame seed hamburger buns
  • 1 C fresh cilantro leaves

NOTE: If you can’t find the guajillo chilis, ancho chilis or pasilla negro chilis will work. The guajillo chile comes from drying a mirasol chile and it has a mild to slight heat. I soaked the chilis in warm water for about 20 minutes.

Drain the soaked chiles very well and put them in a blender with the marjoram, oregano, garlic, 1/4 of the chopped onion and the pineapple juice and puree until smooth. Add the salt and pepper. Mix to combine.

NOTE: I used the food processor. Easier clean up and same effect! And besides, the blender and I are not friends any more!

Place the ground pork in large bowl and pour the marinade on top. Mix well. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

NOTE: The meat is now BRIGHT red. Don’t be alarmed!

While the meat and marinade is mingling, peel and core and slice the pineapple.

NOTE: Try to but a pineapple that will be as wide as your burger or buns once sliced. I was able to remove the core with a donut hole cutter.

After 30 minutes or so, divide the pork mixture into 8 equal portions. Shape each portion into a 1/2-inch thick patty.

NOTE: Your hands will now be bright red! No worries! It washes right off!

Heat a grill pan over medium-high heat.

NOTE: I did these outside on the grill. Make sure you lightly oil the grill or these will stick. The sugar in the pineapple juice does carmelize, so no worries about the grill marks!

Working in batches, grill the burgers until cooked through, 6 to 8 minutes per side. Transfer the burgers to a plate and cover with aluminum foil to keep warm. Let rest for about 8 minutes.

Brush the grill with a little more oil and grill the pineapple slices until golden brown, 2 minutes per side.

NOTE: GRILL HOT!! I put the oil on a paper towel and use tongs to oil the grill. BE CAREFUL!

Spread 1 teaspoon mayonnaise on the cut sides of each bun and warm on the grill about 2 minutes, cut-side down.

Build the burger time! Burgers onto the bottom half of the bun. Next comes the grilled pineapple, then cilantro and chopped onion. I added a little extra OOMPH here with avocado cream (I’ll post that recipe later). A squeeze of lime doesn’t hurt here! Top with the other half of the bun. Dive in!

These are slightly spicy and sweet at the same time. Your first look at this may cause a raised eyebrow or a skeptical look, but these ingredients work in perfect harmony. This burger is AMAZING! This is a burger that will appear here MANY times over the summer!

17 Responses

  1. Wow, spicy. I love how tall it stacks too. I want to eat it, like now.

  2. Oh, man, these sound amazing, Annie! Grilled pineapple and pork pair together perfectly…so I know I’d love every bite of this unique burger…..mmmm.

  3. Oh my these would be good, especially with the potato salad. My husband loves tacos al pastor, but we all love to change it up. Love the grilled pineapple too. I’m going to have to fire up the grill this weekend. Hope you are having a great week.
    -Gina-

  4. i bet they are delicious

  5. Wowzer…these look really amazing! I am definitely going to make these babies!

  6. I may have to skip the chiles, but everything else in your recipe sounds delicious!

  7. A grill in NYC? Lucky duck!

    • We’re actually in Bay Ridge, Brooklyn, so we have a (cement) yard, container garden, and grill! We spend a lot of time out there!

  8. […] the same show that inspired me to make Burgers al Pastor, Marcela made Cilantro Fries. The recipe below is Marcela’s. I changed it a bit for what we […]

  9. I saw this episode and thought Spike and Marcela were terrific together. I love how your pineapple slice is bigger than your patty. 🙂 It looks SO delicious!

  10. When I eat burgers, they’ve got to be special. I will be eating these beauties! They look stunning. I’m going to have to order the chillies online as they tend to come in two varieties here – “red” or “green” 😦

    So looking forward to trying these burgers!

  11. Pineapple & chiles, YUM!

  12. Sounds yum. I love Mexican food!

  13. […] blog. They had used this for enchiladas, but I thought this would be perfect on top of the Burgers al Pastor I was making – and it […]

Leave a Reply

