Tuscan Potato Salad

I LOVE POTATO SALAD. I LOVE MAYONNAISE. I don’t like the 2 in the same dish.

I am not a fan of hard boiled eggs in my potato salad, or macaroni salad for that matter. I don’t like mayo in my potato salad. I do like mayo on my french fries, though. Yes, I know, picky, picky, picky!

I like a salad that is room temperature friendly and is not likely to spoil or taste funny if it’s too hot outside.

I love this recipe. It started out as a Paula Deen recipe. It was the first non-mayo based potato salad I had seen that I found intriguing. It has changed now – through tweaking and tweaking – to be my recipe.

I was thrilled to see potato salad as this months’ challenge at the Daring Kitchen! I have decided that with my changes that this is a Tuscan-style potato salad.

It’s really quite simple and can easily be doubled or halved.

  • 14 or 15 large red potatoes (about 5 pounds)
  • s&p
  • 1/2 C chopped basil
  • 1/4 C chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2 C chopped scallions
  • 3 cloves garlic finely minced
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 t dry mustard
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 T Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 C extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 C white wine vinegar
  • 1 T marjoram

I switch this around quite a bit. Sometimes I substitute tarragon or thyme for the marjoram; or basil for the parsley; or simply add basil in with the parsley.

Give potatoes a good scrub. Place potatoes in a large pot and cover with water. Bring water to a boil. Once boiling, generously salt the water and boil until potatoes easily pierce with a knife and are tender – about 30 to 40 minutes.

Once done cooking, drain potatoes and let sit until cool enough to handle. At this point, you can peel the potatoes if you want.  Cut potatoes into bite sized chunks.

Place cut potatoes in a bowl and sprinkle the parsley (or basil) and scallions over the top.

In a separate bowl, mix together the remaining ingredients. Pour over the warm potatoes. Mix. Let stand at room temperature for at least 4 hours or all day, mixing every hour. Do not refrigerate before serving. This is best served at room temperature.

14 Responses

  1. My wife thanks you for this lovely mayo free recipe!

  2. Looks delicious! My favorite potato salads do not contain mayo…love them this way!

  3. I love the flavor combinations you used!
    Greay Job on this month’s challenge

  4. I’m amazed. I think you’re one of the first few people that I’ve read that likes potatoes and mayo but not together. This looks like a great recipe!

  5. I love potato salad any way I can get it! So any new way to make it always intrigues me. Very interesting with the lavender in there – what a neat flavor combination. And you are right, this is a nice one to be able to take to a picnic or potluck! Great job!!

  6. I love non mayo potato salads and this looks so good.. Thank you for bringing it to my virtual picnic.

    • I love your ‘what would you bring to this …’ things! So much fun seeing what photos match with people’s thoughts of food!

  7. Although I like mayo in potato salad (and on French fries) :), I could live without it in a salad like this! Glad to “meet” you from The Culinary Lens picnic!

  8. (Even though we already met at basilmomma’s!) Good food gets around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

