• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Fresh Squeezed Lemonade

 

One of the nicest things about blogging are all the wonderful folks you meet. Well, the wonderful folks, their wonderful recipes and ideas!

One of the most recent blogs I follow is Jackie from Syrup and Biscuits. Her recipes are great, and she is funny – like me!

Recently, Jackie posted a recipe for Fresh Squeezed Lemonade.

Just looking at the recipe and her comments, I knew I had to give it a try. I either find lemonade too sweet or too tart.  

This recipe was – and is – absolutely perfect!

You need –

  • 1 C fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1 C water
  • 3 C water
  • ice

NOTE: That isn’t redundant. Follow along, it will make sense later!

Squeeze the lemons so you have one cup of juice. Set that aside or pour into a pitcher. Keep the squeezed lemons.

In a pot, make a simple syrup from the sugar and 1 cup of water. Simply put, add the sugar and water to the pot. Bring to the boil. Let bubble until all the sugar has dissolved. Remove from heat and let sit for a bit to cool off.

In a large pitcher, add the lemon juice, simple sugar, 3 cups of water, ice and some of the squeezed lemons.

This was the most amazing lemonade I have ever made, and perhaps ever tasted. The perfect amount of sweet and tart.

Next batch? We’re adding some vodka and raspberries!

19 Responses

  1. Great recipe. Hits the spot in summer. A friend got us a juicer for like $10 about 10 years ago and we still use it all the time. You’d love one. Juicing that many lemons by hand, that’s pretty tedious.

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed this recipe! Nothing beats fresh squeezed lemonade especially when you have hit on the right proportions for the ingredients.

  3. It’s always hard to get that sweet-to-tart ratio just right!

    =)

  4. Oh, that sounds perfect with the hot weather we’re having!

  5. I don’t know why I never make homemade lemonade. Such a simple process, but so worth it for the fresh, tart flavor. Perfect for summer!

  6. Refreshing on this late spring hot as Hades day! I love keeping simple syrup in the fridge…for those lemonade emergencies!:)

  7. Looks so refreshing! I’ve never made my own lemonade, but am going to have to give this one a “squeeze”! Yum!

  8. The lemonade looks so refreshing! It’s one of the must-have in summer time!

  9. Like the idea of your next addition…

  10. nice to make your own lemonade! Need to try that! {:-D

  11. Just what I need on this horribly hot day!
    Thank you for sharing

  12. Yummy, yum! I love simple syrup because it dissolves so well. My new favorite drink is the Arnold Palmer. I make sweet tea and mix it with lemonade concentrate. i also have some mint growing in a planter and add that as well. I will try your lemonade.Thanks for sharing.

  13. Gosh, this is the recipe I use and I agree…it is just the best lemonade. When we have lots of lemons on the tree, I freeze the juice in 1 cup increments. Actually, I zest them first, freeze the zest for baking and other savory uses and then juice them!

    This made me thirsty. I think I’m going to need to throw a cup of that juice in a pan!

    Thanks for a refreshing and delicious link!

    A+

  14. You had me at the vodka & raspberries!! With that idea I just may have to go through the rest of the work & give it a try! LOL

  15. I don’t know how I missed this post. This lemonade looks so refreshing! Fresh squeezed is definitely the way to go.

Leave a Reply

