• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Coleslaw

My favorite part of any BBQ.

Don’t get me wrong. I love grilled burgers and hot dogs. And great ribs tickle me pink. Nothing better than a steak or sausage on the grill. But with very few variations, they’re all the same!

The salads are the champs. At least to me. They can always be different. There are 100s and 100s of recipes for coleslaw alone.

Over the years I have tried probably a dozen recipes for coleslaw, but there was always something missing in each.

I took my favorite part of each recipe and made one recipe that makes me happy ~ Well, my family too, but truthfully, they will eat anything that stops in front of them!

  • Bag of shredded cabbage/coleslaw mix
  • 4 scallions, chopped
  • 1/2 bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 t caraway seeds
  • 1/2 C mayonnaise
  • 1/4 C sour cream
  • 1/2 t Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 C cider vinegar
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 t dry mustard
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 t pepper

NOTE: It’s hot. Too hot to stand in the kitchen chopping cabbage and carrots. Certainly too hot to be standing in the kitchen chopping away when there is a solution right in the grocery store. Bags of coleslaw mix. Perfect.

Please the coleslaw mix, scallions and bell peppers in a large bowl. Sprinkle with caraway seeds.

In a smaller bowl, mix balance of ingredients. Pour over vegetables. Mix.

Done.

I usually let mine sit in the refrigerator for an hour or so before serving.

9 Responses

  1. I like the caraway seeds and that it’s not too heavy on the mayo! My wife would appreciate that. Love coleslaw on BBQ sandwiches.

  2. Ahh cole slaw! I love it, such an under-rated food

  3. Oh, yeah, this would be my favorite part of a BBQ, too…I guess I’ll be arm wrestling you for the last serving of slaw instead of the baked beans 😉 Looks like a great recipe, Annie!

  4. Love it. Love it. Love it. Awesome recipe.

  5. Definitely agree that caraway is key. Getting me into the summer mood!

  6. MMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm……..great for this hot day!

Leave a Reply

