Macaroni Salad

Macaroni salad is without a doubt my son’s favorite side dish. Winter or summer, makes no difference at all. When I have bought macaroni salad in the past, he would hide the container in the fridge and then keep it directly in front of him, doling out meager portions to everyone else.

Honestly, it never occurred to me to make this for him before. Can you imagine? I make butter to see how it’s done, or ricotta because I am curious, or English muffins just because it’s cold out, but I am buying macaroni salad!? This needed to change  – and quickly!

This was so simple to make and came together in a snap! (I am still sitting here grumbling and shaking my head in disbelief at my – well, LAZINESS is the only thing that would fit here!)

  • 2 cups of dry pasta – a small shape like elbows, shells or Barilla Piccolini Fusille (which is our fav)
  • 1/4 C diced celery
  • 1/4 C diced carrot
  • 1/4 C chopped scallions
  • 1/4 C chopped bell pepper
  • 1 T minced parsley
  • 1/2 C diced tomato
  • 1/2 C mayonnaise
  • 3/4 t dry mustard
  • 1 1/2 t sugar
  • 1 1/2 T cider vinegar
  • 3 T sour cream
  • 1/2 t salt
  • Pepper to taste

NOTE: Remove the seeds and pulp from the tomato. The bell pepper is the color of your choice. The peppers and tomatoes are optional, really, but the colors are pretty, the crunch is nice and it adds to the overall flavor.

Cook the pasta, rinse and drain well.

NOTE: Yes, rinse the pasta. The only time I will ever tell you to rinse the pasta is for a cold salad. While the starch that’s on the pasta helps a sauce cling to the pasta, it don’t taste too great cold!

Add the pasta, celery, carrot, peppers, scallions, parsley and tomatoes to a large bowl. In a small bowl, whisk the mayonnaise, mustard, sugar, sour cream and salt together. Pour this mixture over the pasta and stir to combine.

Season with s&p.

9 Responses

  1. Such a great picnic dish.

  2. I love macaroni salad. This sounds REALLY good!

  3. Ah, I love a good pasta salad. Yours looks delicious. I’ll have to make it soon!

  4. Congratulations! You have received the Versatile blogger award. To claim your award. Please see this post. http://wp.me/p1q0jD-kP

  5. I like pasta salad too. I’d never heard the tip about rinsing macaroni before — great advice!

  6. When macaroni salads are made I know it’s picnic time! Looks great!

  7. Delicious! I love a good pasta salad, especially when its nice and sunny outside.
    *kisses* HH

Leave a Reply

