BBQ Sauce

This is my Mom’s recipe – with a few changes over the years from me. A work in progress, so to speak. My Mom never really struck me as the BBQ sauce type. But, there one weekend, was the most wonderful BBQ sauce I had ever tried.

How she came up with the recipe is a mystery.

You could blame it on the rain and cold.

On boredom at being at the beach in the cold and the rain.

On the LONG drive from the beach to the stores, and realizing just before dinner that you had no BBQ sauce.

You can even blame it on not wanting to deal with the ‘weekend people’ in town – especially cleaning out the grocery store (and liquor store, truth be told!) of all the good stuff by Friday afternoon.

I prefer to think that there is a far more altruistic reason – wanting the best for one’s family, a better flavor, a more healthy version.

  • 4 T dry mustard
  • 2 C cider vinegar
  • 4 2/3 C ketchup
  • 1/2 C Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 2 T tabasco
  • 1 T salt
  • 1 t fresh ground pepper

This recipe can easily be halved. If you make the whole recipe you need a LARGE bowl! I always keep the empty ketchup bottles to store the BBQ sauce – makes my life SO easy! I have also switched in brown sugar for the white and molasses for the honey.

Place the mustard in a bowl. Pour in vinegar and stir until mustard dissolves.

Add the rest of the ingredients and stir until combined.

Store in fridge in an airtight container.

Makes 1 1/2 quarts.

How easy was that!?

11 Responses

  1. Oh, yeah, this sounds just perfect. I’ll test it out on Bill soon…he’ll be thrilled. Now if I’d just make him baked beans, he’d be in heaven. Maybe for Father’s Day?

  2. How long do you think it would keep in the fridge?

    • Great question! There’s nothing in there that would go bad, so I would imagine the same time as ketchup. It doesn’t last that long around here!

  3. Sounds like a delicious recipe. My mother has her own chicken marinade she makes before grilling, so I’ll have to get that recipe and tweak it as well. Great post!

  4. What a great recipe. Makes me want to have a barbeque and try it out 😉
    *kisses* HH

  5. Good hot sauce there. And I love that you use a lot of mustard.

  6. What a great recipe! I think it will inspire me to make my own! I always buy the stuff from the bottle and am sorely disappointed.

  7. I love BBQ and that looks so greats.

    farida
    http://kitchensuperfood.com

Leave a Reply

