Chocolate Tiramisu ~ Guest Blogger ~ That Skinny Chick Can Bake

Liz, the amazing talent behind That Skinny Chick Can Bake, and I ‘met’ many moons ago on a chat board. It’s been fun to watch her fabulous blog blossom. Her recipes are amazing, the photos make you want to either instantly make that particular dish or simply lick the computer screen. She’s always quick to lend support, answer questions or muddle through a blogging problem with you.

If you have not become a fan of That Skinny Chick Can Bake or follow her on Facebook, please do, your senses will thank you.

It has been a pleasure baking along, cooking along, blogging along, and becoming friends with, Liz. I am sure you will enjoy her post and blog as much as I do!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I was so excited when Annie invited me to do a guest blog post…but it’s always a little daunting knowing you have to make something extra special…hoping it both tastes wonderful and photographs well.  I decided this was the perfect time to tackle tiramisu.  On a trip to Vancouver a few summers back, we ended up at a Romano’s Macaroni Grill for the first time.  The star of the show was their decadent tiramisu…which my oldest son, Tom, ordered for dessert.  He shared a few bites…and it was heavenly.  After returning home, I googled this lovely dessert, hoping to make it in my kitchen….well, after seeing that it had nearly 1500 calories per serving and no tried and true copy cat version, I gave that idea a rest.

Since Annie was returning from a fabulous trip to Italy, I thought it only fitting to make something Italian.  And May’s Bon Appetit featured a chocolate tiramisu.  I was hopeful that I could finally get Nick and hubby, Bill, to enjoy this dessert since there was more chocolate involved than a sprinkle of cocoa powder.  Bill thought the  silky chocolate mousse was wonderful…but I don’t think he’ll ever be convinced that soggy ladyfingers are a good thing.  It is the best tiramisu I’ve ever had.  Thanks, Annie, for letting me share on your fabulous blog!

Chocolate Tiramisu…adapted from Bon Appetit

  • 1 cup strong coffee (or espresso)
  • 1/2 cup Kahlua
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 3/4 cup mascarpone cheese, divided
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoons unflavored gelatin (I used a scant 1/2 teaspoon)
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1 cup heavy cream, divided
  • 6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, chopped, plus more for garnish
  • 48 soft ladyfingers

Stir coffee, Kahlua and sugar in a small bowl till sugar dissolves. Set aside.

Whisk together 1 cup of the mascarpone, 2 tablespoons sugar and vanilla in a small bowl.  Cover and keep chilled.

Put 1 tablespoon of water in a small bowl.  Sprinkle with gelatin and let stand till gelatin softens, about 15 minutes.  Set aside.

Mix together egg yolks, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup cream and 1/4 water in a medium metal bowl.  Place bowl over a saucepan of boiling water and whisk continuously till temperature reaches 160º…about 3-4 minutes.  Remove bowl and whisk in gelatin till combined, then return bowl to heat and add the chocolate.  Whisk till smooth and melted.  Remove from heat and set in an ice bath (I partially fill the sink with water and ice cubes).  Let custard cool about 5 minutes.

Whip remaining 3/4 cup cream to firm peaks.  Fold half of cream into chocolate custard till well combined, then fold in remaining whipped cream.

Spread 1/4 cup of mousse in bottom of 8 one cup ramekins or teacups.  Dunk 2-3 ladyfingers in the coffee liquid quickly, and lay on top of mousse.

Cover with more mousse, then another layer of dunked ladyfingers.

Spread about 2 tablespoons (or less) mascarpone mixture on top of ladyfinger layer, and garnish with shaved chocolate and cocoa if desired.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BRAVISSIMA!!

29 Responses

  1. Great post and recipe, Lizzy!

  2. I love your blog, Liz! and the pictures + recipe make me wanna visit your home 🙂

  3. Annie, I am blushing from your kind introduction! It is an honor to be here doing a guest post!

    Yummychunklet, thanks so much!

  4. Looks delicious! Love the cups!

  5. Lovely guest post, and even lovlier recipe. Pass the cup

  6. That is a wonderful tiramisu recipe! I think I have over 20 recipes for tiramisu, and this one is going to be added to the rest. Thank you, Liz!!

    Hi, Annie! Great to meet you!

  7. I love Lizzy!! I’m a huge fan and the girl knows chocolate so if she says this is the best tiramisu then I believe her!
    Gorgeous recipe Lizzy – love it! Great guest post. So nice to meet you Annie. Welcome back from Italy. Hope you get some well-deserved downtime to recover :o)

    • Nice to meet you too! I hope you stop by again sometime. Yes, downtime has been achieved – my vacation from my vacation!

  8. You’ve got an amazing recipe there :), Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  9. Wonderful post Lizzy! I love the coffee cup presentation. I enjoyed your friendship story and am glad to meet Annie!

  10. LOVE tiramisu and this looks so wonderful!

  11. I love that you made it in a coffee cup! It is so cute and looks divine! This would be a perfect celebration dessert for my daughter’s graduation. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

  12. Hi Lizzy-Such a nice guest post…very well done. The Tiramisu is exquisite along with your other amazing chocolate desserts. I have made Tiramisu so many different ways, including strawberry Tiramisu with Grand Marnier, but your version with the chocolate custard in the layer will be an added favorite. So pretty in the latte mug.
    Your recipes are always so thorough, and photos are beautiful!
    Nice to have a nice friend like Annie. Thank you Annie for having my good friend as your guest post!

  13. Annie you are one lucky lady, having spent two weeks in Italy and having Lizzy over here as a guest poster. Her husband and mine must be related, I usually make my cookies a little less soggy so he will eat it.
    -Gina-

  14. This looks so beautiful in the cappucino mugs! I will have to remember that for serving next time! 🙂

  15. Hi Annie! I came here from Lizzy’s site. I’ll be your new follower on facebook. It is a wonderful guest post and you and Lizzy are very lucky to know each other who are both great cook/baker. 🙂

  16. What alovely guest post!! this Chocolate Tiramisu looks so stunning :)!

    Liz, Annie – congrat’s girls – you both have done a great job!!

  17. What I would give for a 2-week stay in Italy!! Anyway, you couldn’t have picked a better blogger to do a guest post. This one has Lizzy written all over it! Lizzy – I love that you made these into individual size servings. They’re lovely!

    🙂
    ButterYum

  18. I love how you made these in individual servings. Gorgeous presentation!

  19. What a cute and creative recipe, Liz, and a great guest post! Thanks for sharing, ladies. 🙂 You have a lovely blog, Andrea, and I’m so glad to have found it! Thanks for stopping by mine and leaving such a sweet comment.

  20. Thanks, everyone, for all the sweet comments! I’m glad that my friends got a chance to meet Annie and her wonderful blog. Coming back her makes me want to make this one again 🙂

  21. Liz, this is a wonderful guest post. I love tiramisu and the presentation is so pretty. Annie I am glad I found your blog.

  22. I follow her blog as well and these Tiramisu cups looks to die for. I would love a little spoonful right now.

Leave a Reply

