Homemade Butter

Not quite sure what comes over me or why I have these overwhelming urges to conjure up something in my kitchen that I can readily buy in the market. But I am a curious person by nature and learning how things work and the alchemy of it has always been fascinating to me.

So this time, folks, it’s butter. This can’t be simpler ~ 2 ingredients, heavy cream and salt. Cream into food processor or blender, turn it on, walk away, come back in 10 minutes. DONE!

This was amazing. Soft, creamy, slightly salty, wonderful on the Italian bread I made that morning.

  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, optional

Pour cream into a food processor or blender.

Process for 10 minutes, or until the butter separates.

NOTE: The photo above was taken at about the halfway mark. I scraped down the bowl and continued on.

Strain off the liquid. Season to taste with salt, if you want salted butter.

NOTE: I put a coffee filter in a small fine mesh strainer, added the butter and let it sit there. When I was putting it into the jar, as I pressed, more liquid came out, just pour that out.

NOTE: I added only salt this first time, but next time I may add some herbs. Perhaps roll it into a log, slice and freeze to always have a compound butter in the freezer. Maybe some fruit or honey. Oh, the possibilities are endless!

10 Responses

  1. I get these urges too, so I understand.
    I was also thinking herbs, garlic, chili , lime as I was reading. The possibilities are endless. I had no idea it was so easy to churn butter.

    • Chili and lime…..corn on the grill…..oh I am feelin ya!

      I know! Seriously simple. I thought – what’s the worst that can happen!

  2. This looks like fun to make, but I don’t own a blender or food processor. I guess I know what my next purchase will be!

    • A friend of mine who’s a teacher does this with her class. They put the cream in a ball jar and shake it vigorously … good workout for the arms!

  3. Looks delicious! I made it a long time ago sans salt…maybe I need to make it again very soon!

  4. I didn’t know you could make it in the food processor. I had envisioned my days in kindergarten, sitting on the floor with a tightly closed jar of cream, passing it to the next five-year-old to shake and shake until we had made our own butter. It was a great memory but I had NO IDEA my cuisinart could do the work of 30 5-yr-olds! TY!

  5. […] better with the butter I […]

  6. WOW! So easy…and perfect for your lovely Italian loaves~

  7. […] it never occurred to me to make this for him before. Can you imagine? I make butter to see how it’s done, or ricotta because I am curious, or English muffins just because […]

Leave a Reply

