• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Rolo-Coasters ~ Guest Blogger ~ Hugs & Cookies

Hello everyone! I thought that every once in a while a guest blogger would be fun. Whether a blogging pal or a ‘Not Quite Ready for Blog Time Player’ friend.

My first guest blogger is Danielle from Hugs & Cookies. Danielle and I first became acquainted with each other through a mutual love of Ina Garten and the cooking forum Contessa’s Kitchen.

It wasn’t until I saw Danielle’s blog and her wonderful Facebook page that I realized what a talented baker she truly is. I have loved watching her baking talent progress year after year. Yes, a slight bit of jealousy – she can roll dough and she can decorate cookies with icing and I cannot – YET!

I have participated in her bake alongs – and you should too! – though not as often as I would like. Her baked goods are inspiring and her photos mouth watering.

Without much further ado – Danielle ~

*****************************************

What an honor to be a guest blogger!

I was tickled pink when Andrea asked me! I am a mommy of 2 wonderful boys and I am married to my Prince Charming.

My passion for baking probably began the day we returned from our honeymoon almost 9 years ago. I had so much fun planning a gourmet dinner and dessert … And so it began! It of course helps that my Dad is a caterer and my Mom is an awesome cook – it’s in my genes LOL!!!!

I began my blog Hugs and Cookies in 2006 and expanded it last year to a great Facebook page.  I host a bake along on my blog and Facebook page which has been very exciting!  Each week, I share a recipe that I have enjoyed and others are invited to bake it and share a picture of their creation!

I have formed some fabulous friendships through a mutual love of baking! Baking is a family affair in my house … my oldest son enjoys baking it with me and we all enjoy eating it!

I also have fun bringing the love of baking into my classroom. My students have so much fun, and we all know how educational baking is!

I hope you enjoy my recipe for Rolo-Coasters! Stop by and join us in our next bake along!

For the Cookie:

  • 2 sticks BUTTER
  • 1¼ cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup cocoa powder (I have used Valrhona & Hershey’s-both great!!!)
  • 2¼ cups all-purpose flour
  • ¼ tsp. kosher salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 2½ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

You also need:

  • 1 bag of Rolos  – unwrapped

NOTE: Cut 45 of the Rolos in half and freeze while cookies are baking. (From this recipe I made 30 cookies. Each cookie uses 3 Rolo “pieces” so that would be a total of 45 Rolos cut in half.)

For the Drizzle:

  • 12 Kraft caramels
  • 2 T. heavy cream

Preheat the oven to 350˚ F.

Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

In an electric mixer with paddle, beat butter and sugar till fluffy. Add eggs one at a time. Add the cocoa powder and mix until combined. Add the flour, salt and baking powder to the bowl and mix on low speed just until combined.

Stir in the chocolate chips with a spatula. Drop with an ice cream scoop (medium size) or by large Tablespoon. Bake 14 minutes.

NOTE: Check your cookies, the timings depends on the size.

Remove tray from oven, top with 3 pieces of frozen, chopped Rolos and return pan to the oven for 1 more minute. Let cool on cookie sheets.

If you are doing the caramel drizzle continue…..

Drizzle:
COMBINE 12 Kraft caramels with approx. 2 T heavy cream in microwave safe dish. Heat in 15 second increments and stir between. Stir until smooth and runny for a drizzle. Use a spoon to drizzle the caramel across the cookies. Let set on wax paper.

6 Responses

  1. What a yummy looking recipe! I love the drizzle of caramel. Great guest post!

  2. Two of my favorite foodies in one place!!! SO fun! Danielle, these better be a bake along recipe soon…these I couldn’t resist.

    Annie, what a fun new feature for your blog 🙂

  3. Looks ridiculously rich and delicious! I may have to make them now…it’s 11:34pm. I don’t have Rolos…24 hr store or bust!

Leave a Reply

