• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Italian Butter Cookies

I am a bit of a cookie monster. I admit it. I love, love, love cookies – in a bite or two you have perfection. If you’re lucky, and you have a few different cookies, you can run the gambit in flavor profiles.

Now, if pressed to pick an absolute favorite cookie, it would have to be Italian butter cookies. You know, the kind with the apricot jam in the center, usually an end dipped in chocolate and sprinkles? Those are my weakness in the cookie department. Whenever someone would bring a box of cookies to our house or there was a cookie tray at a gathering, this is the cookie I take out of the mix and hide for myself for later!

I have been searching and searching for a perfect recipe for these. This recipe from my friend Danielle at Hugs & Cookies is absolutely perfect – exactly the taste and texture I was hoping for. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with me!

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

  • 1 1/4 C confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 C + 2 T Butter

Mix all ingredients in high for about 5 minutes and mixture is smooth and pale yellow in color.

  • 2 1/4 C flour

Add the flour to the confectioner’s sugar and butter mixture.

Once combined, gather into a ball, wrap in plastic wrap and chill for an hour.

Roll dough out.

Cut cookies into whatever shape you want. I would think round or flower shaped is more traditional. I used Wilton Flower Fondant Cut-Outs. I first used the largest one and after baking and realizing you would be eating 2 of these I switched to the medium sized one and that was perfect for a 2 bite cookie.

Bake in oven for 8 to 10 minutes. The larger cookies took 10 and the smaller ones took 8. Keep an eye on them, a few of mine are a little too dark at the edges (still really good though!)

Transfer cookies to a wire rack and let cook completely.

Once completely cool. spread the bottom side of one cookie with jam. I used apricot.  Don’t use too, too much or it will squish out the sides. I think next time I need to use a slight bit more than I used for my first try.

Once you have ‘jammed’ all your cookies, it’s time for the messy part.

I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips in the microwave at 30 second blasts, mixing after each 30 seconds until the chocolate was completely melted.

Dip one edge of the cookie in chocolate and then into sprinkles. Place on a rack that’s over a baking sheet to dry. Being the big baby that I am, I used rainbow sprinkles – you certainly can use chocolate sprinkles or colored nonpareils.

 

Once they were all dipped, place the baking sheet in the fridge for about 10 minutes so everything sets.

I must warn you, these are highly addictive! Be prepared!

9 Responses

  1. Even the ones that are too dark look tasty to me! Great pick.

  2. These look just like the Italian cookies at the Italian bakery near my apartment. Delicious!

  3. Those are some of my favorite cookies as well. I adore the apricot with the crispy cookie and lovely dark chocolate. You are making me hungry. Can’t wait to try this one!

  4. These are one of my absolute favorites too! I love them with apricot or raspberry jam! I have never tried baking them….now I will!
    They look gorgeous!

  5. I love this type of cookie and never realized they were called Italian Butter Cookies. Must try this recipe…..never made cookie batter with confectioner’s sugar….very cool! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

