• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Edible Containers – Daring Cooks

Really intriguing thought, don’t ya think? That’s what I thought when I saw this as a challenge over at Daring Cooks. Such a good idea that it’s a joint Daring Cooks/Daring Bakers challenge.

Perhaps it’s the thought of not washing a dish that intrigues me. But, wait, that can’t be so. The edible container still has to sit on something, doesn’t it?

So goes that theory.

The question became … sweet … savory … sweet … savory?

I thought perhaps a spun sugar bowl with beautiful strawberries … (stop laughing) … okay, I am laughing too. Who am I kidding?

Savory? Looking through the mountainous recipes next to my bed I came across frico – crispy discs of Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese – which can be molded into shapes. I found my solution.

I used Giada’s frico cup method –

1 1/2 cups of grated Parmigiano-Reggiano

I didn’t use the smallest holes on my box grater. I didn’t use the largest. I used the ones in between. If I had any sense I would have taken a photos of the grater to show you, sense wasn’t something I was necessarily born with!

Sadly, I wasn’t really holding out hope for this working.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Definitely use a silpat or parchment paper. Use 1/4 cup for each cup, flattening it out to a diameter of 4 1/2 to 5 inches.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes.

NOTE: My second batch I baked for less time, about 6 1/2 minutes, and had a better result.

Working quickly and using a thin spatula, transfer the frico to a muffin tin and put a glass inside to shape.

NOTE: ARE YOU FREAKIN’ KIDDING ME HERE OR WHAT? Totally didn’t work. I tried using the bottom of the muffin tin, but the muffin cups were not deep enough. I tried a juice glass. NOPE. The bottom of my cordial glasses were the perfect size.

If you don’t have the frico molded before they start to stiffen, pop them back into the oven for 20 seconds or so – they become pliable again.

Now that I had the edible container part sorted out, what to put in them?

I was roasting a cut up chicken (surprise, surprise) for dinner with Mediterranean spices and thought I would serve a tomato, cucumber and parsley salad to go along. Usually I toasted pita bread and break it into shards to sprinkle over the top, but the penny dropped and I thought what a great way to use the salad AND my beautiful frico cups.

I removed the seeds and pulp and then diced a couple of tomatoes. Then I peeled, removed the seeds from and diced a cucumber.  Chopped some parsley. A simple dressing of olive oil, red wine vinegar and oregano and we were all set!

The frico are terrific. A little bite of crispy cheese, some yummy salad. A lot of oooohing and aaahing and a lotta gone! Isn’t that the end result we all want?

Tackling something I found a little intimidating is so empowering!

25 Responses

  1. i like this idea .. superb! Will try it sometime soon.. I love Cheese and to have a edible cup out of that .. well, you can imagine my happiness 😀

  2. Fricos that is a great idea and to fill it with tomato, cucumber and parsley salad is inspired superb work. A crispy cheese bowl is brilliant!

    Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  3. Your frico cups are beautiful. I love the sound of a cheesy exterior and then the refreshing salad inside – mmm!

  4. I love Parmesan crisps and use them often as a side to cauliflower soup, but have never made them into salad cups! Great idea!

  5. Ooo, these look like florentines! Very pretty. And yes please to cheese! Great job!

  6. I have always wanted to make cheese plates..your look delicious! great job on the challenge

  7. Those look delicious, I am always afraid of playing with really hot food, great job.

  8. Beautiful job!!! I’m having some anxiety about the Daring Bakers’ edible container challenge…hope mine is as fabulous as yours!!!

  9. Yummmm…these look fabulous! great pics!

  10. These cheese bowls are killing me here! They look gorgeous and sooo yummy! I’m happy you enjoyed the challenge, thanks for joining in!

  11. I just adore these! What a fabulous idea for a cocktail party. The salad looks and sound delicious as well and thank you for sparing me the blood, sweat and tears of trying to lay them over or inside muffin tins. Ideas that work are the best ones.

  12. I just tagged you on my Easter blog post 🙂

  13. I love this! Perfect summertime accompaniment

  14. […] to a thanks, LIZZY!   1.  Most Beautiful Post: I would say from a culinary standpoint, the Frico Cups I made for the Daring Bakers Edible Containers was the most beautiful.    2.  Most Popular Post: […]

  15. I’m wondering if I can cook these early…..is there a good way to store them for 1/2 a day?

Leave a Reply

