Oven Crisp Flautas

I don’t mind cooking on a Saturday night. I just don’t want to think about it and I really don’t want to put a lot of effort into cooking.  I mean, really, shouldn’t the chief cook and bottle washer get a day off?

Used to be, at least in my house, Saturday night was take-out night – usually Chinese or Mexican food. But since the ‘day’ and our new very careful eating regime, Chinese food is a BIG nono, and Mexican take-out is just too full of things a certain someone shouldn’t eat.

Lucinda to the rescue! On her show, Mad Hungry, Lucinda made the most enticing Oven Crisp Flautas. No frying! No BAD ingredients! Simple! And Mexican! This would be the solution for my Saturday night dilemma – easy for the cook and pleasing to those yearning for take-out.

  • 1 package corn tortillas, 12
  • 6 ounces Monterey jack cheese, grated
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 15-ounce can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • 1 tablespoon safflower oil

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Lay tortillas out on two baking sheets. Spread cheese on each one. Place in oven to melt, 1-2 minutes.

Meanwhile, toss the tomatoes, black beans, salt, and lime juice together.

NOTE: I wanted these to be a little more substantial, so I poached 2 chicken breasts, shredded them, and added them to the tomatoes and bean mixture. I also added a bit of cumin and cayenne to give it an extra layer of goodness.

Distribute mixture over cheese-melted tortillas and roll up.

Place side by side on baking sheet. Brush oil over top of each roll. Bake for 8 minutes, until golden and crispy.

NOTE: And because I can’t help myself, I sprinkled more shredded cheese over the top.

To serve along with the flautas, I made arroz con frijoles negros – and it couldn’t have been simpler. I opened, drained and rinsed a can of black beans. I cooked brown rice in the microwave (yes, I hear the collective gasp, but it was truly a last minute idea!). In a saute pan I added a T of oil and a chopped small onion, cooked until translucent. I added in the beans and a can of diced tomatoes. Bubble for a few minutes. Add to the rice and voila!

16 Responses

  1. Those look great. We’re the opposite in my house. We save the fussy meals for the weekends.

  2. We usually go out for dinner on Saturday nights but for this I might make an exception!

  3. Oh yummy, I need some sour cream, and then I wouldl totally go to town on these 😀
    *kisses* HH

    • Sour cream was totally necessary. Sadly the scarfers in my house finished it all BEFORE I took the photo! My bad, I should have takent he photo first! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Do you have Lucind’s Mad Hungry cookbook? It’s quite good.

  5. Very nice…looks yummy!

  6. @ Margi – I do have it and I love it. I really like her style of cooking. Thanks for stopping by.

    @ Linda – thanks!

  7. Not a bad idea…what day is it tomorrow? ;o)

  8. I LOVE this recipe. Mexican food, not fried and so delicious looking?!! I’m in.

  9. Who needs frying with all the delicious cheese? These look excellent!

    PS….looking forward to your eclairs. FYI: mine worked fine, but others had trouble…maybe due to the oven temp not high enough.

    • My oven tends to run hot, so that should be okay. I am a nervous piper, so we’ll see. Yup, the extra cheese on top did it for me! I added more lime juice than that though, but I am a tart kinda gal!

Leave a Reply

