Prosciutto Wrapped Pork Chops

 
After a long day of work, I want a recipe that is simple, easy and quick to put to together. But wait, it has to be nice to look at, and tasty, , and good for company, and make the testosterone triplets think I slaved over a hot stove AFTER having worked all day. How else do you think I get that dishwasher emptied, the garbage cans taken out, the dog walked, etc.? I’m not asking for too much, am I?
 
I found this recipe searching through Everyday Food Magazines for inspiration and another recipe for Every(thurs)day Food Magazine day. This instantly caught my eye … pork … prosciutto … one pan … less than 30 minutes. PERFECT!
  • 4 boneless pork loin chops (5 to 6 ounces each)
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 4 slices prosciutto (about 2 ounces total)
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • Lemon wedges, for serving (optional)

NOTE: I used dried thyme leaves. I had bought a bunch of thyme for a different recipe, didn’t use it all, dried the leaves and put them in a jar. Cheaper, less wasteful, and more convenient as I ALWAYS forget to buy the herbs!

Season pork chops with salt and pepper.

Sprinkle thyme leaves over each, pressing, to help them adhere to the meat.

Wrap 1 prosciutto slice around middle of each chop, like a belt; press ends to seal.

NOTE: I was worried how the prosciutto was going to stick together once it started cooking, but it was kitchen magic and they stayed in place (and I managed NOT to eat the prosciutto before wrapping it around the pork!)

In a large nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium-high. Cook chops until golden brown and cooked through, 4 to 5 minutes per side. (Cook in two batches, if necessary, to avoid crowding.) Serve chops with lemon wedges, if desired.
 
NOTE: Skipped the lemon wedges.  Steamed some green beans and made some quick (but yummy) potatoes to go with. Everything started and ended at the same time!

For the potatoes:

In a large nonstick skillet, heat 1 T olive oil over medium heat. Add 1 lb halved new potatoes, cut sides down, and 6 peeled garlic cloves; cook, turning potatoes occasionally, until golden brown, 6 to 8 minutes.

Add 3 sprigs of rosemary and 1/2 cup water; reduce heat to medium-low. Cover; cook, turning potatoes occasionally, until tender and water has evaporated, 15 to 20 minutes (check after 15 minutes and add more water if potatoes are not done).

8 Responses

  1. I would have trouble not eating the prosciutto too. What a great and simple recipe idea. Your potatoes sound amazing! I think I will try those next as well.

  2. My gang would be in pork heaven with this recipe!!! Looks fabulous~

    • Thanks, Liz! I really loved that recipe and make it now when those center cut boneless loin chops are on sale. It’s also great if I have a pal over for dinner during the week and it’s an office day for me. I can have everything on the table fairly quickly!

  3. Love the flavors of this pork chop! Looks like a perfect dinner!

  4. Prosciutto-wrapped pork chops? How heavenly!

Leave a Reply

