• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Texas Caviar

In May of 2009 I saw this recipe. I ripped this recipe out of the magazine and added it to the ever growing pile of  printed and magazine recipes I had been hoarding. As I went through the piles of recipes, trying to pare them down a bit, I always kep this one – but never quite getting to the point of making it.

Last week, as I was reading through the foodie emails I receive, I saw this recipe again on the Saveur website. This was a sign. This recipe needed to be finally tried.

The recipe is originally from Helen Corbitt, a New Yorker transplanted to Texas, where in the 1950s she became the director or food services at Neiman Marcus. Many of her recipes still grace the menus there.

This recipe just kept calling to me to be made and I am glad that I finally tried it – the recipe is sweet and vinegary with a touch of heat. I made this with ham steaks, but I can see it on the table when it’s time to get the BBQ going again!

This comes together in a snap with just a few ingredients. 

  • 2  15-oz. cans black-eyed peas, drained and rinsed
  • 1⁄4 cup roughly chopped cilantro
  • 1⁄4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1⁄4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 serrano chile, stemmed, seeded, and finely chopped
  • 1⁄2 red bell pepper, cored, seeded, and finely chopped
  • 1⁄4 red onion, thinly sliced
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

 

Combine first 8 ingredients in a bowl; season with salt and pepper.

Refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight. Serve on top of lettuce leaves.

NOTE: How easy was that!? I let mine sit for about 2 hours before dinner, but the left overs were amazing the next day!

 

Leave a Reply

