Beggar’s Linguine

I am always a day late and a dollar short with the cook alongs. Might be my problem with being a conformist. Might just be too many plates spinning in the air at the same time.

That being said, I have had a love hate relationship with this particular recipe since purchasing Around My French Table. I have flagged it to make, taken it away, put it back. There was something that was intriguing and something I wasn’t sure appealed to me. Truthfully, I was glad to see this as one of the chosen recipes for Fridays with Dorie so I would be pushed a little to make this. I didn’t think this would fly with the testosterone triplets so I made this for just myself – and they don’t know what they missed!

Here was where the intrigue began. The main part of this recipes is chopped dried fruit and nuts. The recipe calls for figs, raisins, almonds and pistachios. Totally love almonds, pistachios and figs. Not so much for the raisins. I can deal with golden raisins so that’s what I used. I also added some dried cherries and dried apricots. I adjusted the amounts of each to end up with the same end result.

My other draw for this recipe was brown butter. I love brown butter in and/or on everything. Those 2 little words in a recipe title is an instant draw. The dried fruit plumping in brown butter is amazing. Te scents wafting up from the pan were mouth-watering.

I was worried about the addition of parmigiano. And while I was pushing the bits of dried fruit around I realized one of my favorite snacks is fruit and parmigiano, so how bad could this possibly be. The orange zest on the top totally put this over the top. The bright freshness of the orange playing with the brown butter soaked dried fruit and nuts. I was so pleasantly surprised at how sweet and savory this was at the same time.

While you MUST own Around My French Table, you can find this particular recipe on Dorie’s website.

5 Responses

  1. This looks like nothing I’ve ever made and I am intrigued as well. I applaud your for making it for yourself because so many times I pass up on making something divine looking just because no one at my house will eat it but me. Have a great weekend!

  2. This looks like a gorgeous dish .. i love pasta and i am sure i will enjoy this recipe.

  3. I like all the ingredients you’ve listed in this dish and am curious how it all tastes together. Many times the most unusual flavor combinations make up the best most memorable dish. Thank you for sharing about it. I still have yet to add Dorie’s newer French cookbook to my library…I look fwd to purchasing it. 😉

  4. Hi, glad to discover your blog through twitter. This is an interesting dish, never would have found it particularly appealing until I saw your pictures.

  5. Thanks, everyone!
    @Geni I did make this just for me. I wasn’t sure if it would fly with the guys. I decided fear couldn’t be a factor!
    @Cristina I love all the ingredients separately and together. Fruit and cheese? Fav breakfast or dessert here. The odd ingredient for me was the pasta. But it really transformed when you sauteed the fruit in browned butter.
    @Nuts Grazie e benvenuti. Mi auguro che lei provienede nuovomente

Leave a Reply

