Laurence’s Cake

One of my most favorite people in the world – who lives much to far away – made this lovely cake for me when I saw him last. Far too much time has gone by since our last visit, and hopefully we will be able to remedy that at some point, but I have this light and lemony cheesecake – that requires no baking – to remind me of him each time I make it.

This cake is a snap to put together, is lovely for company, and can be changed a bit to suit your mood. It’s a one bowl, no fuss, no muss wonder. I love that I don’t have to tie up my oven and the most fiddley bit is bashing up the digestives – which can be a wonderful stress reliever!

  • 200g pack of digestive biscuits
  • 50g melted butter
  • 2 x 250g tubs marscapone
  • 40g icing sugar (sifted)
  • finely grated zest and juice of 2 lemons

NOTE: I used McVitie’s because I can find them. You can use gingersnaps or graham crackers. Laurence believes the original recipe was limes, not lemons. My lemons were quite large and juicy so I only used 1 1/2.

Crush biscuits. Mix crushed biscuits, butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon for the base.

NOTE: I put the biscuits in a ziplock bag and bashed them to bits with a rolling pin. Thank you teaching me that one, Nigella!

Press into bottom of an 8″ springform pan and set aside.

NOTE: Although Laurence’s recipe didn’t say to, I put the crust in the fridge while I am mixing the filling to just let it set a little. If you’re using gingersnaps, skip the cinnamon. And don’t be worried about the size of the springform – mine happens to be 8″, so that’s what I use.

Beat together the marscapone, icing sugar, zest and juice.

NOTE: Being the chocoholics that Laurence and I are known to be, we also have been known to crush a Flake bar into the mixture. It adds a nice texture and flavor to the marscapone and lemon.

Smooth mixture over base and refrigerate for a minimum of 30 mins.

Once chilled, decorate with your favourite fruit.

NOTE: Strawberry is my favorite, but it would work quite nicely with grapes or blueberries or blackberries, whatever is your favorite. To gild the lily a bit, add more crushed Flake over the top.

5 Responses

  1. What a yummy cheesecake and how nice of your friend to bring you a cake. I need more friends like that!

  2. Oooh, boy, that looks fabulous! So simple and elegant~

  3. Looks like a lovely cake!

  4. Love the additional idea of a crushed up flake in your marscapone mixture…what a dream cake!

Leave a Reply

