• Top Food Blogs Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • ”my
    Award Winning Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies

I love Valentine’s Day. I live in testosterone central. I respect the male thought that Valentine’s Day is purely a Hallmark holiday, but I am hard pressed to get them to realize that I love Valentine’s Day.

Is it the pinkness? Is it the promise of love and promises? Is it the recognizing and appreciating those in our lives that we often take for granted? Could be the chocolate! The Cookies! The cupcakes!

So, I, now,  sadly, do not buy cards or candy for the men in my house. I anticipate the same from them – as sad and under appreciated as that makes me feel.

I will not, however, give up hope that something pink will make them remember, perhaps smile, and know that they’re loved.

I made these sugar cookies for my son – they may even be gone as I am typing. I love to see the smile that breaks across his face when he bites into a warm cookie that he knows I baked just for him, the sugary kiss that gets planted on my cheek as he grabs 5 or 6 and runs out the door. It renews my faith in love, family, and hope that one of these days they will REMEMBER that I love Valentine’s Day.

I adapted this recipe from Martha’s Stewarts recipe in Cookies.

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated lemon zest, plus 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, (2 sticks), softened
  • 2 large eggs
  • Sanding sugar, for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sift flour, baking soda, and salt into a bowl; set aside.

Put white and brown sugars and lemon zest in the bowl of an electric mixer with the paddle attachment. Mix on medium speed 30 seconds. Add butter; mix until pale and fluffy, about 1 minute. Mix in eggs, 1 at a time, and then the lemon juice. Reduce speed; gradually add flour mixture, mixing until just combined.

Scoop dough using a 2-inch ice cream scoop; space cookies 2 inches apart on parchment-lined baking sheets. Flatten cookies slightly.

NOTE: I used the bottom of a glass to flatten. 

Sprinkle tops with sanding sugar.

NOTE: I used a white, coarse sanding sugar first.

Lightly brush with a wet pastry brush.

Then sprinkle with more sanding sugar.

NOTE: PINK! It’s Valentine’s Day and pink for some reason is one of my favorite colors, so it had to be PINK! THe two different colored sugars gave the cookies a nice shimmer.

Bake cookies until golden, about 15 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks for 5 minutes. Transfer cookies to racks using a spatula; let cool completely. Cookies can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 3 days.

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY TO ALL MY FRIENDS! Enjoy, with love from my kitchen to yours!

6 Responses

  1. These look excellent!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ligia Cardenas, From the Bookshelf. From the Bookshelf said: {new} Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies! Happy Valentine's Day! http://bit.ly/ifkMIp @marthascircle @MarthaStewart […]

  3. Yum…nothing wrong with the classics, especially for Valentine’s Day.

  4. You do know cookies go through the mail really really really really well right? (Just a thought for next time). :o)

  5. Mmm, you can’t beat a good sugar cookie. These look fantastic. Thanks for linking them up to Sweets for a Saturday.

Leave a Reply

